The Cat Chronicles Day 3: Twilight Hour Visitor


What’s this? My keen feline senses notice a strange two-legger. I did not even hear him enter my fine kitty lair! How could a mere two-legger be better at sneaking than a fine hunter such as myself? That simply will not do!


I must be careful. This prey is not to be underestimated.


I do not understand! Nipping his feet does not work! That always works on the wrinkly one, especially when I need her urgent attention, like when the food bowl is empty, or she has spent too much time watching the tiny two-leggers in the light-box instead of me! I yowl to express my displeasure, and the wrinkly one turns in our direction. Surely she will not stand for this! But it is as if she doesn’t even see the other two-legger! She goes straight to the food box, and he remains unnoticed, though he is in plain sight!


I can’t help but feel in awe of this two-legger’s skills. He would make a fine feline… if he had a few more legs. Perhaps if I befriend him, one day I can learn to be just as stealthy. His paw feels like a cold wind, nothing like the soft warmth of the wrinkly one… and then he was simply gone, right before my fine heterochromatic eyes!

Perhaps he will return and teach me his secrets, one day…

Day 2 | Day 4

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Cat Chronicles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Cat Chronicles Day 3: Twilight Hour Visitor

  1. rebornmonster says:

    lmao. They do say that cats see what we don’t. :)

    It was a sweet note that her husband is still around.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Twiggy says:

    Haha, you gotta love those cat senses! Also great to see who she is mourning ‘in person’ :)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Another great chapter! Hmm… kitten sees ghost… who I’m assuming is human’s deceased spouse?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. moongirlxxx says:

    I read a few chapters earlier today when I was feeling icky in bed and finally got around to commenting on them <3 This is such a cute, original way of writing – the reaction to the ghost was so great! I always feel sad when I see mourning Sims though. I'm glad she got the little kitty to keep her with company – spunky nature and all haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always feel like elder sims are often under represented and neglected in Simlit, so when I thought of the idea of doing a story about a catlady and a cat from the cat’s perspective, I knew right away I wanted an elderly catlady that had just adopted a pet to deal with being recently widowed. Animals have such a powerful way of healing the soul.

      Like

      • moongirlxxx says:

        Yes they do! I have one cat who will dodge me when I am sick, I don’t think he likes the smell.. or maybe it’s the medicine, I don’t know. The other one is obsessed with me when I am sick. She wants to lay on top of me the whole time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daaaaaw! The purr is so soothing, too!

        Isn’t it amazing how animals just know when you are sick? I have chronic migraine, and I have a really old cockatiel (I think we’ve been together a good seventeen years now!) and she seems to always know when I’m having a migraine and is quiet as a mouse. She has to seriously need something to make a peep when I’m not feeling well!

        Like

      • moongirlxxx says:

        Cockatiel are such amazing birds. I grew up with one.. and back then I had a boyfriend who I used to whistle at when he left my house (I know lol) and she learned how to do the whistle, and would do it every time he left with me LOL

        It is so cool that yours know when you don’t feel good and will take care of you in that way. <3

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, cockatiels will easily pick up sounds like that. This cockatiel learned to say “Hi Kali” whenever someone walked in the front door because we always turned to her and said “Hi Kali” to her when we came in. Then she just started doing it whenever someone walked inside!

        Like

  5. Emily Anne says:

    I can’t help but love this!! It is so sweet, and so interesting – I think I said before but I love seeing things from the animals point of view. It is really sweet and I really enjoy that you had him see Earl’s ghost, who petted him, almost like a thank you for watching over his wife <3

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s actually been really interesting as a player, as Earl used to visit quite frequently early on, and then just… stopped. It really was as if he just sort of went… she’s got this, she’s going to be okay now with Shadow around.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

