The Cat Chronicles Day 13: Fire Monsters

Today is warm. The wrinkly one is once again visiting her territory down the street; I can only assume that the other two-leggers are members of her colony, and as their queen, she has keep an eye on them.


I’m not certain what the little one is doing, but it seems to involve exchanging eating-things for some sort of shiny not-eating-things, which just seems a bad idea to me. She needs some proper hunting lessons! A proper hunter never lets go of the eating-things!


I like this clever two-legger who acquired the eating-things for his useless rocks! He knows how to summon the magic red light!

I could have chased it all day, but sadly it disappeared before I could grasp it in my paw. Next time, I will catch it for certain!


Huh. The little one exchanges back all her not-eating-things for what appears to be a most tasty beast. Why go to all that trouble when she had eating-things in the first place? I am quite confused by two-legger hunting practices…

My ears prick up to a lot of noise from the back of the den. I go to investigate.


The spotted kitten is here! She’s looking at me a bit confused. Does she not recognize me now that I’m a big cat?


I let her get a good sniff of my scent…


…And she gives me a nuzzle in return.


I can’t help but show her my new big cat powers of being able to leap up onto high places!

…She is most impressed, I’m sure.


. . . . . . . . . Show off!


I also show her how good I’ve become at pouncing! I can take on much bigger prey now!


…Like so.

Wait, spotted kitten, where did you go?


Noooooooooo, spotted kitten! Run! It’s… the Scotty!


…I am too late. The Scotty already has his slobber all over my little queen!


Don’t fall for that friendly-looking tongue, kitten! Canines are evil! They are so dumb they think their own tails are playthings instead of there to give them balance and finesse, they’ll give you fleas, and don’t even get me started on their breath!


The two-legger and his kit seem to have found something to eat that smells meaty and delicious. I wonder if they’d share…


No, kitten! Don’t go near the wet-thing! Never go near the wet-thing! Wet-things are evil! As evil as dogs! …That’s why dogs have such wet tongues, didn’t you know?


It is still a wonder to me how two-leggers can enjoy being wet so much. The little one has clearly lost her mind…


Hmm, what do we have over here? A little sleeping place that smells of the Scotty…


What, do you think this is your sleeping place? We’ll see about that!


…That’s what I thought.

After I woke from a most wonderful catnap, it seemed that the Scotty had found a way to get his revenge on me for conquering his territory in the worst way possible…


Get away from the wrinkly one! She’s my two-legger! Don’t you dare get your nasty doggy scents and slobber and fur all over her!

Oh, he really makes my fur stand on end!


The wrinkly one can fly? Why has she never used this amazing ability before?

I have little time to ponder this thought. The air smells bad. I turn my head to see a most frightening sight…


Fire monsters! Fire monsters are going to eat the little one!


Stay back, kitten!


. . .Is it safe? The little one seems way too happy for nearly being eaten by fire monsters, and there is something suspiciously bright in the wrinkly one’s hand…


Nyaaaaaa! What is that? These are not the sorts of things that normally inhabit the night!


No, Wrinkly One, don’t go into the smoke! I hiss wildly at the foul beast, but nothing seems to stop it!


From out of the smoke, another fire monster attacks!


…I am a strong, brave cat, but even I am no match for these creatures. Hopefully they cannot get to me here.


The creatures scream throughout the night.


I will never forget that terrifying night that the starry sky exploded into flames.


It seems the Hatchers enjoyed their Leisure Day a bit more than Shadow did… Poor kitty.

Day 12 | Day 14

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Cat Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Cat Chronicles Day 13: Fire Monsters

  1. rebornmonster says:

    Awe. Poor Shadow. Don’t worry, we won’t tell anyone you were hiding.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Twiggy says:

    It’s adorable to find out what he is talking about every time and again from my two-legger pov haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sometimes I have to really think hard for proper analogies, heh. My sister’s cat always hid under her bed when the fireworks were going off on Independance Day here, so I knew those were going to have to spook Shadow hard. Come to think of it, I think that’s the one thing so far that has taken him down a peg or two, hahaha!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. lisabeesims says:

    That is so sad … In rl they do get so frightened

    Liked by 1 person

  4. moongirlxxx says:

    I love how believable his dialogue is. Wet-things and dogs are evil to a little feline indeed! Okay maybe not so little anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. RipuAncestor says:

    Stupid humans with their weird hunting habits and terrifying fire monsters… At least Shadow’s reign over dogs is still strong.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

