The Cat Chronicles Day 21: Problems


Night time is the best time for hunting. The ground turns cold and hard beneath your paws, making the silent hunter ever more stealthy.


All sorts of strange bugs…


Gotcha!


…And fearsome beasts can be found prowling in the darkness.


You’re mine!


…You never know what predators you might find, waiting to strike unsuspecting prey at any moment!


After a full night of hunting, the sky was starting to brighten. I was just about to head back when I noticed out of the corner of my sharp feline sight…


…A bird!


…This time, the feathered fiend in mine!


. . . . . . . . . . Noooooooooooo!

I feel utterly defeated as the bird avoids my pounce and safely takes to the the dawn skies.

One day bird, one day…


As if to taunt me, the brightening skies suddenly darken and start dripping wet stuff! I make a dash back to my shelter.


What’s this? The golden morsel has fallen!


What good does that larger kingdom do you now, oh mighty fallen leader, but to serve as a bigger watery grave! Oh, how you mocked me from your little stone castle! Now who’s laughing!


Bye bye, tasty golden morsel! Enjoy your trip down the giant water dish!


The earth growls fiercely; it sounds like a giant monster intent on eating everything in its path. Am I safe here?


I see no sign of the monster outside, but even more wet stuff falls from the sky.

Going outside today is impossible.


I suppose, just this once, I will watch the little two-leggers in the light box with the wrinkly one.


…They aren’t very amusing.


Doh. That was a rather disgraceful landing. Always land on the feet, the feet!


The light box had us both ready for a catnap. But the wrinkly one seemed rather insistent on making strange faces at me before she’d let me go lay down.


Silly two-legger. …But you are a good two-legger. You keep my food bowl filled and my fur brushed and the back of my ears scratched and your domain is warm and keeps the wet stuff away. This is the best place in the world!


That night, the wet stuff finally went away, but my problems had only just begun…

…The little one had arrived.


The wrinkly one gives the little one that same sorts of looks she gives me. It is bothersome…


Perhaps she needs to know just who is boss around this place!


So, look here, little one. The wrinkly one is my two-legger. I wouldn’t want to have to live with the Scotty either, but I think it’s time you turned tail and–


Oh, don’t do that… Feels… so… good! I won’t… be fooled… so easily! Aaaaaah… that’s the spot, right there…


That night, the little one did not leave.


Wait a second…


She stole my favorite sleeping place!

Mraaaaaaw! This isn’t over yet, little one!


R.i.P. Ginko, you… won’t be missed at all by a certain feline in the house. (Am I the only one disappointed that the Pets expansion pack didn’t have a “Play in Fishbowl” interaction for cats?) I also was saddened to see there was no option at all to have a family member from another household invite a relative child to stay the night. I get that, you know, just some random adult asking a kid to stay the night would be creepy, but the game has Rose and Ivy linked in the family tree as grandmother and granddaughter! I mean, really! In the end, I just had to move Ivy into Grannie’s household for a few days to achieve a “weekend at Grandmas,” heh.

Day 20 | Day 22

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Cat Chronicles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Cat Chronicles Day 21: Problems

  1. rebornmonster says:

    Ivy’s a good kid. She may still win over Shadow in the end. :)

    It is odd that grandparents can’t do sleep-overs. I would have thought… well, whatever I guess…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ya, considering the lack of content that Generations had for elders, that really would’ve been a nice feature. “Invite grandchild to stay over.” How many of us have fond memories of staying the night at our grandparents’ house as kids?

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Twiggy says:

    Great to see Ivy spending a night over. And don’t worry, Shadow, you’ll get that bird one day lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lisabeesims says:

    Ahh little golden tormentor goodbye

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sadly that goldfish was one that Earl caught fishing, too. But with Rose’s dementia, she was terrible about remembering to feed him. Unlike Shadow, the fish couldn’t bother her constantly to feed him. *sigh*

      Liked by 1 person

  4. moongirlxxx says:

    I guess that wasn’t the same girl. They sure look alike! I’m sad the goldfish died and hope she’ll get a new one now that she has that big aquarium.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rose has late-onset dementia (which in-game is represented by her “Absentminded” trait) so she’s very forgetful. Despite queueing feeding the fish, she’d often “forget” the action regardless. Poor Ginko. I do want to take her fishing as that was her late husband’s favorite thing to do, but it is unfortunately mid-winter in my game right now. If she lives through winter she’ll definitely go fishing for some new fishies.

      Like

  5. RipuAncestor says:

    Shadow is a poet! His words to/about the dead goldfish were so good! And aww, he and Rose are getting along so well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

