The Stray



“Still can’t get the kittens to sleep?”

“No. I’ve tried everything! Warm milk, rhythmic purring, but they are all wound up. I think they found your catnip mouse again.”

“Blast! All right, kittens, gather round, I have a bedtime story–”

“It’s not the one about leaving the wriggling beast in the wrinkly one’s comfy place again, is it?”

“No, my kits, this is a story of a little kitten, about the same age as yourselves…”


“As soon as he could open his eyes, the kitten knew that he was… different from his litter mates. His mother was a fine, silky black cat, and all her kittens had the same dark black fur… but his was white as the wet cold stuff outside. Whenever he tried to feast on his mother’s warm milk, his siblings would take up all the room along her belly, leaving no teats for the white kitten to suckle.”

“Papa, this story is sad!”

“Don’t worry, my little queen, it’ll get better…


“The family of cats lived with a special breed of wrinkly two-legger known as a “witch.” This breed of two-legger apparently has magical powers. The white kitten wanted nothing more than to be a proper witch’s cat…


“…But when the witch saw him, she was furious! Proper witch cats are always black as the night!


“She scooped up the white kitten and took him outside…”

“This is getting scary, Papa…”


“And told him to scram! He wasn’t wanted there!”

“You said this was going to get better!”

“Hush and listen to the story!”


“The little kitten pleaded with the witch to please keep him, he’d be a good and proper witch-cat, but the two-legger paid no heed to his mewls. She kicked him aside and went back into her den, leaving the kitten all alone.


“There was nowhere for him to go, but to run into the dark night, and hope that he’d find a home before he starved or froze out on the streets. His dream of being a witch-cat had been shattered.”

“That’s so sad…” *sniffle*


“The white kitten ran and ran, until he had no energy left. He was too tired and too hungry. He collapsed, sure that he wouldn’t be much longer for this world.

“The world started to go dark around him… His eyes fluttered…”

“I can’t listen to any more!”

“And he was certain that he must be dreaming, because there, before him, was the most wondrous site! Slowly, he summoned all the strength he had…


“…And he walked up to the little witch that was standing before him, mewling loudly, asking her, ‘Please please please can I be your witch-cat?’ Of course any proper two-legger would understand that means, ‘Please feed me, I’m starving!’ The poor kitten was famished!


“The little witch, a mere kitten among two-leggers, did the right thing and fed the poor feline. She was obviously well trained.


“Instead of getting kicked and sent away, the white kitten was lifted into her paws and pet gently, right behind the ears and down the neck, in all the best places.


“Whatever magic that little witch had planned that night was cancelled, because she turned back around, with the white kitten in her arms, and headed back to her den. His feline eyes went wide; he could tell it was a proper witch’s den!


“And the white kitten became a witch-cat from that day forward. …See, kittens? I told you it would have a happy ending! …Kittens?”


“Aah… and Papa gets a happy ending as well! Goodnight, kittens!”


This was my first time trying out the Monthly Short Story Challenge from the Sims forums. Though this could easily fit into the Cat Chronicles timeline, since the stipulations are to write a story in a short story format, I had to separate it out from the main series… think of it sort of as a side story that could work as a stand-alone story or as part of Cat Chronicles. This is why I also changed up the format a bit and wrote it in a slightly different dialogue style than is typical of Cat Chronicles.

I ran into so many glitches trying to create this rather simple little story! I initially thought it was my copy of Midnight Hollow that was causing my issues, which is why I moved the second half of the story to a new town, but my crashing issues were continuing even then; a cc-strip on Little Witch finally got it stable enough to get the second half, though the odd part is she wasn’t wearing anything that I hadn’t used on other child Sims before. Huh. In any event… at least it got done despite the constant crashing! *throws confetti* I don’t think I’d ever worked so hard for 15 screencaps before!

Since I try to always cite my sources (in case anyone else wants to use them!) I got the witch Sim here and can vouch she is 100% cc-free (I added the witch hat cc, which I found here for adults and here for children). I’m not big on custom poses, for the cats I mainly used ones from Shades Cattery and OrangeMitten’s Kitty Pose Pack. The witch shooing the kitten away actually came from Traelia’s Death Pose Pack (I told you I only have cute cat and death pose packs installed!)

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Cat Chronicles, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Stray

  1. Cute story and I’m glad the little white kitten found a furever home with the young girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thanks Silver! I was having some major game issues when I was getting the footage for this short story, and due to the crashing, I was very worried that the last image I was going to get was the poor little white kitten running off into the distance of Midnight Hollow, never to be seen again. What a sad ending that would make! But with cute kittens involved, I simply had to whip it into submission and get the second half of the story! The more it crashed, the more determined I became! So it did feel quite satisfying to reach that happy ending after all, hahaha!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. rebornmonster says:

    That would be a terrifying tale to a kitten. Poor baby. :( It’s such a shame that so many too-leggers are just plain dumb.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha, this was written for the October Short Story Challenge thread on the forums, which had the theme “Two themes are scarier than one! Scary stories/Halloween inspired,” so for that month, you could choose to just write on one of the two themes, so I picked, “Halloween-inspired”… though I suppose, from the kittens’ viewpoint, it is pretty scary (happy ending aside)! At least white kitten found a much better home in the end!

      Liked by 3 people

  3. chealsycat says:

    This story is awesome! <3

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

