Spirit Animal Award

Sim Stories has received its first ever blogging award!

Spirit Animal Blog Award Acceptance Rules:

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, and link back to their page.
2. Post the award picture on your blog.
3. Write a short paragraph about yourself and what your blog means to you.
4. If you could be any animal, what would it be?
5. Pick and notify ten nominees.

Thank you so much to ADWilson from Have I Got a Story For You!, who writes “2 Times the FUN!,” a Sims 3 Random Legacy, Twiggy from Twiggy’s Sims Adventures, who writes “Monstrous Mezilkree: From Grotesque to Gorgeous,” a Sims 4 Prettacy, Spottydog714 from Spottydog714, who wrote “Looking for Mum’s Murderer,” a completed Sims 4 murder mystery, who is now writing a bachelorette challenge, and Charliimai, who is writes The SIMple Life of Una Reign, a Sims 4 Rosebud Challenge with a sci-fi twist! I greatly enjoy these authors, and am so honored to receive my very first blogging award from such excellent writers!

About Me:

I’m not sure what more can be said about me that isn’t already covered in my About Me section or Blogaversary: Year One post, so I guess I’ll just give the “too long; didn’t read” version. I’m a middle-aged asexual female from Idaho in the United States that works as a fulltime librarian and is a bonified geek: in addition to being a fan of Sims, I also like sci-fi and fantasy novels, watching Doctor Who, BBC’s Sherlock, My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, and a multitude of anime, and I go to several fan conventions a year. I also have Daily Persistent Headache syndrome (read: I have a migraine every single day) which is why my stories update at the pace of a one-legged cat trying to bury its business in the litter box.

What My Blog Means to Me:

When I first started writing The Cat Chronicles, I wasn’t really aware that SimLit was “a thing.” I was more familiar with the format of YouTube Let’s Plays and their story-telling potential, but that format was just not something that was an option for me… yet, when I got into the Sims, and watching other Simmers, I really wanted to share my stories within the game, too. It was when I found the blog Alice and Kev that I realized the “screencap and written word” style of storytelling was a possibility, and that I could do that. But I had no idea there was a plethora of such out there, nor a whole community of supportive Simming writers out there! So my blog started out as a way to simply get these stories out of my head, and share them with whomever might stumble across them… and it still is that. But now that I’ve discovered the Sims forums and the community of SimLit writers there, it has also let me be part of this family I didn’t know I had. So now it is just as much about the friends I have made than about the stories that it hosts.

If You Could Be Any Animal, What Would It Be?

Is this really going to surprise anyone considering the most popular story on this site? Maybe that is why I like writing about cats… I understand them so well because I’m a bit too like them. I am independant, never one to be “part of the pack,” taking great pride in my individualism. I prefer my quiet solitude, but like to seek out the companionship of my most trusted companions when I feel the need for company (oh dear… is my BFF actually my two-legger? *facepalm*) I have these odd OCD quirks (though if you ask my coworkers, apparently all librarians are like this!) about how I like certain things and I don’t like change much (and if you think a cat does, I dare you to rearrange your furniture and see the faces he gives you for moving his favorite chair out of that corner). Also, I am incredibly lazy. If it weren’t for the fulltime job, I bet I’d sleep as much as a cat. I certainly seem to spend that much time in bed on my days off (granted, I am usually down with headaches, but still… lazy is lazy, right?) And, I’m a cataloger! Get it? Get it? Oh man, I’m hilarious!

Nominees:

This is probably the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do, because I read so much, and I tend to always find the wonderful in everything that I read. But I only get to choose ten. Thank goodness my shoutouts thread on the forums is always open and doesn’t have a limit!

Dreaming Sims by JLBDreamer
Frenemies by Mightydan
Goldilocks and Bears by chealsycat
Immerse Your Soul in Love by CandyCadet
Raerei’s Fortress by ra3rei
Rin’s Bin by Rinellie
Rory Plays the Sims by Rorygilmore34
Sim-ply Awesome Stories by swcheppes
Simthology by OJenn
Stallion Falls by Lindie_DB
Twisted Tales by Daijahv

(Since one of my nominees has formally declined the nomination, I’ve added an eleventh nomination to the list!)

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Spirit Animal Award

  1. O'jenn says:

    Ahhh oh my gosh I don’t deserve this! You are always so kind and thoughtful Mastress!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chealsycat says:

    Congratulations, Sara! Very well deserved!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations! There will be many more awards, I’m sure! :)

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Please forgive my English I am pitiful French fluent.I use English I should not.
    Glad to meet an other ace other.Grey-ace here.I rather claim myself as grey instead of totally ace just for the sexual part that is not clear at all.I am still wondering who I am between the two.
    First of all, congratulations on being rewarded, you’re the second person here I see you were nonimated.I am not quite aware of what’s happening in the wordpress sims community .I just publish my story, read about my friend one and leave.I avoid to be in contact with the community for being a bit betrayed.Tired of feeling judge about myself without knowing me.
    I also want to thank you for all the like you gave me.I am happy you like my sims 3 gameplay story base.I am not into a real storytelling.I have no ideas of what kind of story a sim(s) can life and I have no ideas of what can I do.Plus I noticed my detective gameplay is totally out of the rules reading an article about it yesterday.LOL.That’s what I like, to be free of deciding of how I want to play the game.An option I can’t find at all in the Sims 4, that’s the reason why I can’t enjoy it.I have to follow their rules I don’t like that gameplay style.
    I am not a real author I just write stupid thing for fun.This game is my therapy , it heals my wounds, if someone read me and feel cheering up, laugh , smile or have a good time I’ll win.I don’t search for complicated thing , for an elaborate stories , that’s a game.Same for the sims 2 however it’s harder to write something with.
    I am not on official forum and if I were I would be in the French one tss, because my game is in French.I am on tumblr if you want to speak or here , I hide comments too but they are allowed.

    Like

    • Yay, another Simmer who is Ace! I’m an aromantic Ace. ^_^ I love making more Ace friends!

      Your site was also nominated for a Spirit Animal Award, that is how I found the link. Your nomination was located here.

      I featured your story at the Sims forums for a story summary thread I host, Reading Roundup, this week. It can be found here!

      The Sim story community on the Sim forums is actually a very positive place. You do not have to use a certain version of the forum — on the English forums I have made friends that use the Russian version of Sims, the German version, etc., and live all over the world! So you can choose to use any version of the forums that you wish. At least in the English version, there are two sections with very nice people, the Stories and Legacies section and the Sims 4 Stories and Legacies section. It does not matter what game you play — I play Sims 3, but have friends and chat in both forums. Everyone is very nice there! The Sims and Friends and Writers’ Lounge threads are good places to make Simmer friends.

      I moderate a large directory of Sim stories on the English Sim forums, The Stories and Legacies Index, and sometimes when I send someone an invite to add their story, they respond that their site “isn’t a story.” This just isn’t true! Stories come in all different forms! I think of a story simply as “an account of imaginary or real people and events told for entertainment.” A gameplay log still shows the events of a Sim’s life for entertainment! It is still a story. And I enjoy them just as much as stories with a deep, involved plot. As a librarian, I read a bit of everything. ^_^ And many people do not play challenges strictly following the rules. In any story, the main thing should simply be for the author to enjoy what they are doing! If they are having fun, it will always shine through!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I was born in the Ace umbrella but I discovered it was a normal sexuality as being pan,hetero ,bi,homo etc in December 2015.We have got a pride, a flag , and not a hormone troubles or something wrong .Before,because I am hetero oriented, I thought I was only an heterosexual who gots troubles with herself .It’s just hard to play as ace in the sims 3 , they are all romantic and I am afraid the cold trait make my simself having no boyfriend and no children in the future.
        Getting a non offficial game doesn’t allow me to use any official forums , I will be banned.I remember the official forum of the Sims 3 requested a valid base game key for joining.Why I did not play that game is because I was not sure my computer can run it.Plus it’s tough to get a job when you’re young, so hard to get my own stuffs as everybody.
        Thank you for noticing me.It’s very nice.Ptylos is my friend and she was the only one who cares about my blog until you . I don’t understand if I should share the totem and replies the question I don’t know .
        However I only was on official forums for the Sims 2.I got some boxes of my own.Sadly the site is gone.
        I also got a few friends in the sims 4 community on tumblr, they are very nice.But the people seems to be more aggressive and a lot of dramas occurs.That’s why I am discreet now.At the beggining , I did not want to write something.I just played until that day I was totally inspired for chatting about my simself life better.What you’re reading is the second version.The first one was abandonned due to the corrupted saves.Yes stories are stories no matter how people wants to write it.
        I am a multiple simmer normally, I played the sims 4 but the gameplay forces me to follow the rules of the game, I feel not really myself.Plus they are a lot of stuffs that annoyed me.I play the Sims 2 and the Sims 3.I only can write something a bit decent for the Sims 3 due to the interesting story progression.I use Nrass one but EA one is also correct.I follow simmers storytellers learns me a lot.No matter the game we play, we’re a big family who need to be cheered up and bring help.
        Thank you for all these links , it’ll be useful if I can enter the official forums even with my sims 2 registred.

        Liked by 2 people

      • The forums are different than they used to be. My friend Todd doesn’t own the Sims or play it at all, and even he has an account on the EA Sims forums to post comments and give likes on other forum comments.

        Like

      • oh neat I should glance at if they are no restrictions to come and chat.I’ll be happy to meet the writter community.thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. chealsycat says:

    Thank you very much for nominating my story, Sara! <3
    I am much favoured with this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

