Sims Pride Incoming… And We Want You!

Hello everyone! I am planning on doing a pride homage, Sims style, to go up on June 26th, and I would really like to get as much of the community involved as possible that have an interest in participating! (Please note that participation is completely optional; I realize this is the sort of thing many folks would gracefully not wish to take part in, and that is perfectly fine).

This homage will be using screencap submissions from the Simmer community of Simselves or Sim story characters that would fall in the LGBTQQIAAPP spectrum. These include the following:

Lesbian – Women that are only sexually attracted to other women.

Gay – Men that are only sexually attracted to men. This term can also be used to describe homosexual men and women.

Bisexual – A person that is sexually attracted to both sexes.

Transgendered – A person that has transitioned or is transitioning to the opposite sex, as they were born as the wrong sex/in the wrong body.

Queer – An umbrella term that includes anyone who feels somehow outside of the societal norms in regards to gender or sexuality but feels more comfortable identifying as queer than another orientation.

Questioning – Someone that is questioning their sexual orientation, and are unsure which gender/s (if any) they are attracted to.

Intersex – Someone possessing variations in sex characteristics including chromosomes, gonads, or genitals that do not fit typical binary notions of male or female bodies. Intersex individuals commonly possess both male and female sex characteristics.

Asexual – A person that isn’t sexually attracted to either gender. Demisexuals, Gray Aces, and aromantic, heteroromantic, homoromantic, biromantic, and panromantic asexuals all fall under this umbrella.

Allies – Heterosexuals that support the LGBT(QQIAAPP) community.

Pansexual – A person that is attracted to a person because of their personality. They do not care what gender they date, including cisgender, transgender, agender, and gender-queer individuals, they care about what is on the inside.

Polyamorous – A person that practices or desires intimate relationships involving more than two people, with the knowledge and consent of everyone involved.

There may be other sexual and gender orientations that fit into this spectrum that I have missed as well; if I have, feel free to include them!

If you are interested in having your Simself or any Sims from a story you write that fit into one of the above descriptions be featured, this is what I am looking for:

  • You may submit a single image, one per submittee. This image may have as many Sims as you would like featured on it, as long as they all fit into the LBGTQQIAAPP spectrum. It can be an image of your Simself, an image of a favorite couple you have from a story, two Sims from different stories that are LGBT(QQIAAPP), etc. This is your picture, so if you want to be creative, go for it!
  • Your image can be from any Sims game.
  • You must be okay with your image being self-hosted, resized as needed, or used in composite montages as needed.
  • You do not need to create an original image! If you just want to pick out a favorite picture you have from one of your stories, that is perfectly fine!
  • Please don’t submit an image that would be past a PG-13 rating. (Kissing, snuggling, and cuddling is a-okay!)
  • If you are concerned about spoilers in your story (your character isn’t “out of the closet” yet) but want to participate, consider submitting an image of your Simself! Also don’t forget our dear Allies, those folks that may not be LGBT(QQIAAPP) themselves but are so helpful and supportive!

If you would like to submit an image, you can either:

a) If you are a member of the EA Sims forums, you may send me a PM to mastressalita with the following information:

-A link or attachment of your image
-Your username
-Your story name/URL
-The name(s) of the Sim(s) in the image, and their orientation(s)

b) If you are not a member on the forums, you can e-mail me. My e-mail address is: mastressalita AT gmail DOT com. Please include the following in your e-mail:

-A link or attachment of your image
-Your username
-Your story name/URL
-The name(s) of the Sim(s) in the image, and their orientation(s)

Getting all this information is very important, as I want to make sure each and every submitter is properly credited and their stories linked on the Pride post!

Also, if you submit, I’d prefer you not just post your chosen image on the forums/your blog/your Tumblr/etc. if you don’t have to. I feel there will be more impact when this little Pride parade of Sim images goes up if there is some mystery as to what characters/images have been submitted, and it’ll give everyone something to look forward to. ^_^

Submissions must be in by June 19th. I will not take any past that date!

Thanks to anyone that decides they want to take part in this! If you have any questions at all, feel free to ask in the comments! And feel free to hit that Reblog button to get the word out there if you think you have readers that would be interested in this! Let’s create a really awesome Pride together!

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sims Pride Incoming… And We Want You!

  1. Reblogged this on Reagan ISBI and commented:
    Just wanted to share this with all of you because I think it’s a great idea! I’ve already submitted an image (from another one of my sims stories)

    I think it’s so important to promote diversity, and celebrate it!

    Also, along these lines, with the latest update for TS4, who knows what the future will hold for the Reagans? I can do all sorts without mods now. Maybe next gen will be a little different…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I got a part which treats about demisexuality in my story. but as I am an heteromantic ,people considers me as a simple heterosexual, hard to be accepted.I just find the idea awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There is nothing wrong with Gray Aces or Demisexuals, the asexuality branch covers many different nuances and types. (As you know, I am an asexual!) Pride is about taking pride in your orientation, not trying to conform to the ways that everyone else see you or think you should be. If you view yourself as a demisexual heteroromantic., feel free to send in an image of your Simself and be included in Sims Pride. ^_^ You will not be the only Ace there!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, I will send you asap because I am taken for a contest.Sometimes I feel so put aside by everybody because of my heteromantism.I mean a lot of prides flag designers put “us” aside for being like that.They accept my demisexuality not my romantism, .They don’t want to design an demiheterosexual one but they are fine with others demisexual and even with the heteroflex whereas in the whole Ace pride, everybody is normally accepted.So that’s why I am always put aside and feel I am a no-pride at all.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have to take new pictures because part 2.0.9 is not suitable at all.I blurred the adult scene though.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am accepting one image per person. You could use any image of your Simself from your story that you like. Even just one of her playing with her pets!

        Like

      • sorry for the s at picture I totally understood it’s just a grammar mistake.Well I am free of the contest and there is no storm today I can send you , just tell me if it’s convinient for you if I send you the pictures at the official forum

        Liked by 1 person

      • Since you are a New Member at the forums, I don’t think you’ll have PM features yet. You may be able to if I PM you first (haven’t tested that in a while) or you could send to my e-mail address that I have above, several people have been using that instead.

        Like

      • okay I did not know that , as I am rarely lurking in the official forum .thank you for telling me .

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve cute lesbian couple, they arent part of any of my stories. Can I still submit them?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lisabeesims says:

    Real life has been a monster. So I will see what I can do. But I’m barely keeping my head above water regular story. (my eldest daughter has MS and it’s been quite a heavy burden and then my middle daughter’s husband of eight years walked out on her and left her with two little children. So a lot of time is spent trying to be supportive of her make up for where he is slacking … This is on top of just on the regular life stuff.) no wonder why I like my sims … Life is so easy and happy there.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. fabtiffsim says:

    What a great idea! Thanks for doing this!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ten days left for submissions! I would love to see more Sims at Sims Pride!

    Like

  7. O'jenn says:

    Oh question, can I post something on my Tumblr (The day of) and link it back to this page?

    Liked by 1 person

    • The actual pride post with all the image submissions will be going up on the 26th. The link can of course be shared freely!

      If you want to share this post to see if any of your readers want to submit images to be included in the pride post, that is fine too! Those on WordPress can just hit the Reblog button, and those not on WordPress are more than welcome to make a post sharing the link. Everyone has until June 19th to submit images!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. makplays says:

    Reblogged this on makplays and commented:
    This is a super awesome project and if you have some time you should definitely submit a picture!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This is the last week to send in images to be featured in Sims Pride! June 19th will be the final day to send in an image of your LGBTQQIAAPP Sims!

    I would like to say that, in light of recent events, this Sims Pride will be dedicated to the victims and their friends and families from the Pulse nightclub shooting in Orlando. My heart goes out to all touched by this tragedy.

    Like

  10. What a shame, I lost this one! I wish I had seen this earlier. I’ll follow this blog in hope that there’ll be another one in the future. =D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Likely not until next year, though I do want to hold it again next year since I think it got a pretty decent turn out for this being the first year of the event. I had advertised in Writer’s Lounge, Sims and Friends: Share Your Stories!, and my story update thread on the Sims forums, and one of my forum friends also reposted this out on Tumblr. In total, I got 29 submissions this year. June 26th was picked as the day the Sims Pride will go up since that is the anniversary of the US legalizing gay marriage. So it will be going up this Sunday!

      Like

      • That’s awesome! I often read updates on a topic called “What happened to your sims today?” by emorrill. It’s one of the busiest topics on the Sims 3 General Forum. By chance, I decided to read the stories index and voila! It was too late. I’ll pay more attention next year. Thanks a lot!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ya, the Stories and Legacies forum is my typical haunt on the forums. ^_^

        Like

Leave a Reply

