The Cat Chronicles Day 37: Best in Show


Aaaaaah… on days when the cold, wet white stuff is piled up as high as your haunches, it is nice to stay inside a nice warm den and brush up on one’s hunting skills…


Mrrt…? Hey! Heeeeey! Wrinkly One, I was in the middle of something! It isn’t like I interrupt you when you are in the middle of playing with your rustly-thing, or staring at the light-box, or– okay, so maybe I do, but that is beside the point! A lap without a cat is not a proper lap, everyone knows that! Taking a fine hunter away from his prey, on the other paw, is just not done!

And why do you have your thick fur and fuzzy paws on? I have a bad feeling about this…


…A very bad feeling about this! Ever since my Queen and her two-legger came to live in our den, I’ve never had to be shoved into that awful little cat-prison that lives in the belly of the roaring monster! I hate the cat prison! I hate the roaring monster! …And I hate the way it feels like the world is sliding around like a kitten on ice!

Wrinkly One, what– oof!

Oh great Maker of Friskies Temptations Treats, the cat-prison has fallen from its ledge and is going the wrong direction! We are going to die! I’m still a young, spry cat with kits and a mate at home! I don’t want to die!


When the roaring monster stops and the wrinkly one rescues me from the upended cat-prison in its belly, I’m beyond spooked, but thankful I’m still alive. That experience was on par with the horror stories I’ve heard about baths…

I have no idea where the wrinkly one has taken me, nor do I particularly care. I’m cold and wet and in a terrible mood from the trip, and just want to be somewhere warm and cozy. I could do with some hot milk and a catnap right about now.

The little one is here, but I know this is not her den. Her den is close enough to walk to like a civilized animal, and this place doesn’t reek of dog.


In fact, I think I detect the distinct scent of feline in the bitter-cold air…


What… What is this place? It’s… it’s filled with cats! So… many… cats!


My kitty senses are telling me that something is very wrong here. This many cats shouldn’t be gathered around in some strange place with ground that is slick like ice but not even cold beneath the paws… it isn’t natural! We should all be at home catnapping in our own warm dens…

A Persian of some years seems to sense my nervousness at the situation. “Mrrrrrrrrt.” (A Rookie, huh?)


“Mrow, mroooow, mwreewrrrt-rrt. Mrr, meow, mreeeeow. Moaw, mrt!” (Don’t worry, you start to get used to it. A word of advice; keep the claws in and don’t piss on anyone. Good luck out there, Rookie!)

“Mrr?”

Luck? What in the world was I going to need luck for?


Oh. Ooooooooooooh.


Sir, I hope you realize there is a special death reserved for two-leggers that think it is okay to hold a cat this way! And I would gladly give one of my nine lives to make sure you see it!


Keep the claws in my tail-end! Wrinkly One, what have I done to deserve this special brand of kitty torture?


You see this face? This is the face of betrayal.

…I thought you loved me, Wrinkly One.

I felt dirty when that strange two-legger finally put me down. Far too much attention had been spent on areas that, in my humble cat opinion, should only be graced by a kitty’s tongue and not a two-legger’s roaming eyes. I would’ve swiped him across those eyes if I could’ve gotten my paws in the right position! It was as if that crafty two-legger knew, and held my forelegs in just such a way as to prevent my fine hunter self from doing damage.

…I really, really don’t like him!


I was beyond hissy-cat at that point. Ears flat and tail in the air, I gave the wrinkly one a look that said, in no uncertain terms, it was time to leave. But the wrinkly one isn’t always the sharpest kit in the litter. Instead, she wanted to play.

*sigh*

Wrinkly One, that’s what I was doing back at our den, before you interrupted me! If you wanted to play hunt-and-maim-the-mouse together, we could’ve done that at home!

Fine! If I catch the mouse, we get to go back to our den, right?


Oh, that’s tricksy, Wrinkly One! If you think as fine a hunter as myself can’t climb such a measly wall after one little mouse, then…


. . .

Wrinkly One, I feel like you are not playing fair, here.


That’s it, I’m done playing! I’ll find my own way home! Why, back when I was a stray kit, I used to walk over twenty miles in the cold white stuff, both ways, to eat from outdoor housecat food bowls! Certainly I can–


*jingle jingle*

Dammit Wrinkly One, you exploit my one weakness!


I can see you Wrinkly One~ I know you have the mouse out there~ I can hear the jingle-jingles~

Kitty-tunnel-sneak-attack, incoming!


You can’t run forever~


HA-HA!


Aaah, somehow it smells even sweeter than usual, and the jingles as I bat it between my paws are far more satisfying than usual.


What are you so happy about? I’m the one that caught the mouse. …And no, I’m not sharing. I’m still mad at you. Just for the record.


“Maaaaow. Mreow.” (Not bad, Rookie. Not bad at all.)

“Nyaaa… mrrow.” (Aaaaaaah well… It was nothing, really.)


“Maao-ow meow mrr.” (It’s all in the back.)

“Mrrt, mew mew? Maaaaaeow meow meow. Maow. Mrrowt.” (Err, you do realize you were doing it wrong? You are supposed to make the two-legger do all the work, carrying you over the obsticles when you don’t cooperate. Ah well, it’s your first time. You’ll learn in time.)


…As I listen to the old Persian’s words, I feel betrayed for the second time that day.


Only the wrinkly one seemed truly pleased as we left that strange place filled with cats and proddy two-leggers and tiny walls and kitty-tunnels. If I didn’t still feel violated from being held and pet in all the wrong ways and tired from the strangest game of catch-the-mouse I’ve ever played, I’d wonder if I really was safely at home in my den the whole time, having the oddest “ate-too-much-nice-smelling-mouse” dream I’ve ever had.

…I just hope the wrinkly one wasn’t so pleased she decides to do this again sometime!


This was by far the hardest chapter I’ve ever put together to date. Using poses just isn’t something I use very often in this particular story, but when the random event came up for the Best in Show Competition, I really wanted to “show” the events happening once the Sims disappear inside the rabbithole location. Creating the scenes really was like “herding cats”… quite literally!

I really wasn’t sure how to deal with cat dialogue… since, ya know, they are cats and quotations didn’t seem right. If the way I did it doesn’t work, feel free to give me suggestions and I’ll try to come up with some other way of doing that in the future.

Day 36 | Day 38

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Cat Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Cat Chronicles Day 37: Best in Show

  1. Aww.. what a great story. I read the whole thing tonight, and it just made me want more!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. chealsycat says:

    I’m so glad to see Shadow again! Congratulations on winning the competition, Shadow and Rose!
    Great job on making the pictures, Sara! And I also loved cats talks! :D
    Thanks for the story! <3

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Poor Shadow, he seems to be feel so unhappy to be there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I think Cat Shows are great fun for the owners… but not so much for the cats.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Totally agree, I also doubt cats really enjoy to be bothered for stuffs they even don’t understand the why and the how.WInning a contest is only fun for the owners.They too much love their quietness.By the way congratulations on Rose and Shadow for winning.Shadow is a very beautiful baby.I love the white Persian too.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. lisabeesims says:

    What a sweet update … when he said, “see this face? It is the face of betrayal.” I lost .. how funny!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ThuggishSplicer says:

    Yay! Now, I need to check on the two side stories! It’s an awesome reading, I had a lot of fun! I think this chapter was very smart and the dialogues between the cats was nice as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • This chapter was a pain to create visually, but I was pleased with how it turned out! I really wasn’t sure how to handle cat dialogue… oddly enough, my mental voice for Babycakes Loveland, the old persian, was something akin to Marge’s sisters on The Simpsons, hahaha. (Just gruff and something you would not expect from something so “cute.”)

      Ya, there are three Short Stories that use characters from Cat Chronicles: “The Stray”, “Remembering Earl,” and “Edgar Evans Award” (“Remembering Earl” and “Edgar Evans Award” get skipped often for being from Rose’s perspective, but I’ll admit that “Remembering Earl” is probably still my favorite thing I’ve ever written on the site.) There is also one other Short Story in there that is about the love shared between people and their pets, “For the Love of Furbabies,” which is the first short story I’ve ever had place in the Short Story Challenges on the forums. (I would not recommend reading that without tissues handy, though).

      Like

      • ThuggishSplicer says:

        I could see! I was thinking of trying those poses, but I give up. They seem to be too much complicated.

        It might take me a while to read everything from your blog. I’ve bookmarked “The Yandere Diaries”. I’ve also read the “The Stray”, which is very cute!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Poses aren’t difficult to set up and use, but do take a large amount of time to stage. They aren’t something I use in “Cat Chronicles” very often (the Halloween chapter was the first time I ever “experimented” with poses, because I wanted to learn how to install them and use them). Since the Cat Show would’ve been a “happens in a rabbithole and you don’t see anything” kind of event but I wanted to do something with it, I figured I’d try to recreate it with poses. Originally I thought I’d show a lot more, but it was such a pain to lock down all the background actors that at that point I was just like… no way, just Shadow it is. : – P I didn’t have the patience to show any of the other cats too after all that Sim-herding.

        I tend to experiment with poses more often in the Short Story Challenges, since those have such a limited amount of screencaps per the challenge limitations anyway, and I’m usually working with a very small amount of Sims for each shot with those.

        Like

  6. Twiggy says:

    I love this update! Great facial expressions paired with fun remarks and congrats Rose for winning that price! I understand the cat dialogue. It was only when I saw your note that I thought: how does she do dialogue normally then between Shadow and his mate for instance? This feels just as natural so no worries :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ya, this was actually the first chapter that has featured dialogue between two cats (in others Shadow makes mention of opinions of his mate, but never any direct conversations). I wasn’t really sure how to do it as I didn’t want it to come across as Disney-fied “talking animals”, but I didn’t want it to be confusing either because of the particular first-person diary-style the story uses. Hopefully it isn’t something that will get used very often, but when I had those pictures with Babycakes, that old Persian, I really wanted to include a little chat between him and Shadow.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

