The Sunshine Blogger Award

It still astounds me that this little blog, which I started a year and a half ago, has readers that would consider it a favorite when there are so many amazing Sims stories out there whenever one of these blogging awards makes its rounds. It really does warm me, and bring a little more sunshine into my life!

This nomination came from lilsapphire over at Lil’s Creative Corner, which has a plethora of Sims goodies, such as several Sims stories, Sims music videos, and Sims 3 builds (I always need those, since I can’t build for my life!) Check it out and you won’t be disappointed by the great diversity of content!

Not long after I received nominations from Simslover163, who writes several different great series over at Sims Nation, Sims World, All Things Sims, many of which explore different expanions and game packs for Sims 4 (I am caught up with a few of his tattoo bros, Medicine Man Matt and Hotshot Henry!), Socallucyfan, who writes Once Upon a Legacy, a great fairy-tale themed legacy I’ve been following since its beginnings that I would highly recommend if you enjoy fairy-tales (the first generation was based on the Cinderella tale, and the second generation is just getting started, based on Sleeping Beauty!), and Simsophonique, who writes Simsophonique and the Sims, a Sims 3 story following a Simself detective living with her adorable pets in Sunset Valley.

In September, I received another surprise nomination from TheoriesOfHappiness, who writes a plethora of Sims 4 fiction at Cornucopia of Simlit! I highly recommend checking out his site, especially if you enjoy stories with a supernatural or mature edge, as there are several there that would satisfy fans of these genres! (And there are also a few less-intense stories on offer too, for those readers less-inclined to mature-lit, as well).

Then just after the new year I received yet another nomination! You guys are seriously the sweetest! This nomination is from sweetnightingale, who writes short stories, spin-off stories for her main series, and pen pal letters for a collaborative pen pal project using Sims 3 over at her site Simming with Sweetnightingale!

Thank you so much for all of your support, guys!

What is the Sunshine Blogger Award?

Well, it of course is an award for bloggers from other bloggers. It is a beautiful way to share all the amazing things other bloggers do and write about. To recognize their efforts in inspiring others to do what they love.

Rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.
2. Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
3. Nominate 11 bloggers and add their links.
4. Notify the bloggers you included.
5. Keep the rules in your post.

Answers to Questions I Received

Q. What is your favorite sport to watch?

A. There is only one sport I actually really like to watch, and that is baseball! I don’t have television so I don’t follow it heavily, but when I have the chance to watch it, I enjoy it, and baseball-themed sports anime is about the only sports anime I can stomach. For Labor Day this year I’m visiting my dad in Washington, and we are going to three Mariners games at Safeco Field which I’m pretty excited about!

Q. What is your favorite food?

A. I love food, so I don’t know if I could pick a favorite when there are so many good foods in the world! I’d say ice cream is a weakness and one of those things I get really cranky if I discover its gone from my freezer. As far as something with more substance, I’m a sucker for Asian food, though I do have to be careful with it as too much soy sauce or MSG additives are migraine triggers for me.

Q. Movies or books?

A. Books, definitely. I hardly ever keep up on movies, but as a librarian, I always have a book in my purse I’m working on.

Q. Favorite book genre?

A. Fantasy is my very favorite, but science fiction and supernatural make close seconds! I really just love anything that takes me “out of this world”!

Q. What is your favorite book/movie/TV show?

A. My favorite book is The Giver by Lois Lowry. I realize it’s a low reading level, and I don’t care. My saying has always been, “You are never too old for a good book.” I love this book, and I read it again every few years (I have two copies of it on my shelf… just in case I’m lending it out and feel the urge to read it while it’s gone!) I always feel like I get something new out of it every time I read it. I love it so much I flat-out refused to watch the movie adaptation!

Q. What is your favorite fictional genre?

A. I absolutely love fantasy and science-fiction! I’m also fine with supernatural fiction or urban fantasy… I just need my stories to “take me to another world!” I get enough of this world already! On occassion, I will read historical fiction set in feudal Japan, as I have a deep love and interest in Japanese culture (but that also scratches my itch to “take me to another world,” so…)

Q. If you could have one super power for a week what would it be?

A. The power to heal. It would probably be heartbreaking to lose after a week, but trying to do as much good as possible in that time would be worth it.

Q. Do you prefer coffee or tea (or both)?

A. Oh, they are both dear loves to me! Though because my Daily Chronic Migraine condition has been so bad lately, I’ve tried to keep coffee drinking to a bare minimum, just because I’ve been trying to keep caffeine intake quite low. Then I switched to tea, and lately have become quite addicted to all the different varieties! Tea-tasting has become my substitution for wine-tasting.

Q. What is your favorite season?

A. Autumn, definitely! I love the sharp, brisk feel of the air, the crunch of the dead leaves, the vibrant colors, the smell of the leaves in the air, that temperature that is not really cold yet but no longer warm… it’s just perfect for me. Plus I love pumpkin food, and stores seem set on only carrying it at that time of year when, in my opinion, it should honestly be offered year-round. It’s one of those little things I look forward to every fall season.

Q. Warm or cold weather?

A. I don’t particularly like either extreme, but I’ll take the cold over the hot. I really dislike snow though, so as long as the cold stays dry, then I’m fine!

Q. How many pets do you have and what are they?

A. I have one cockatiel, Kali, and he/she (I honestly don’t know the gender of this bird, so I call her my “Drag Queen,” hahahaha!) is pretty much ancient! I believe she is 17 or 18 years old now (the average lifespan of a cockatiel is 15-20 years). Definitely an elder among birds!

Q. Favorite animal?

A. I love cats (I bet that is obvious, heh!) and would love to own one someday, but that would require finding different living arrangements (this apartment doesn’t allow them). As far as wild animals, I’ve always been partial to foxes! In my mind they sort of look canine while having the a mind more along the lines of a feline, and I’ve just always really liked them. And if we are going fantastical… I’ve collected unicorns since I was a little kid (you wouldn’t believe the amount of unicorn stuff around my place), and I will read just about anything with dragons in it!

Q. Cats or dogs?

A. I’m a big ol’ catlady, and I’m sure that is quite obvious given my chosen writing material. ^_^

Q. What is your favorite TV show?

A. I don’t follow a lot of TV shows, but the ones I do show my geek cred: Doctor Who, Big Bang Theory, BBC Sherlock, My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic all come to mind. I also really love Penn and Teller: Fool Us and RuPaul’s Drag Race.

Q. What was the last movie you watched at a theater?

A. Real movie? I don’t even know if I can remember, I go so infrequently. Theaters tend to have such loud volume it gives me a migraine, so I hardly ever go. But I always go to the live streams of the Rifftrax Live shows (Rifftrax is the company headed by Mike Nelson, Bill Corbett, and Kevin Murphy, formerly from Mystery Science Theater 3000) and just last week they did a live riff of Mothra that I watched. Those guys always crack me up and I never miss one of their live riff streams!

Q. What is your favorite song?

A. Oh man… so many songs I like, it would be impossible to pick a favorite! If I ever have some “magical time” (hahahaha) I’d love to illustrate some of my favorite songs using Sims 3!

Q. Who is your favorite music artist?

A. It would probably be a toss-up between Within Temptation and The Birthday Massacre. Just thinking about those two groups is why it is impossible for me to pick a favorite song… so many by those two groups I just adore!

Q. Pizza or tacos or both?

A. I think I’m pretty partial to taco pizza. I actually have some leftovers of a taco pizza in the fridge!

Q. If you were to travel to another country, where would you go?

A. Easy, Japan! I’ve been a huge fan of the culture since I was very young, I can write in hiragana and katakana, know a tiny bit of the language, and am just an all-around Japan-nerd. I’d go crazy to get to travel there someday!

Q. Favorite hobby?

A. Coloring! It’s my favorite unwind activity. I love to put on a podcast or Twitch stream in the background to listen to while I work away in a coloring book. I tend to do this before bed and it’s so relaxing for me!

Q. Do you like video games? What’s your favorite game and why?

A. I’m a “retro” gamer as I never really adapted to the “new gen” of 3D games (I just can’t orient and navigate in them, and tend to get headachy trying to play them myself). Most games I can watch other people play without issue, so I’m really into Twitch streams and YouTube LPs. A few games, however, cause me headaches no matter what and I have to avoid them. So for my own playing, I stick to retro games and newer games still styled in 2D sprite graphics. I love simulation, puzzle, RPGs, and SRPGs. My favorite game ever? Chrono Trigger, but Final Fantasy VI is a very close runner-up. And I am a known Harvest Moon junkie. I’ve been avoiding Stardew Valley because I know it would take over my life otherwise. My console for life is the Super Nintendo.

Q. Name one thing you can’t live without.

A. Internet access, without a doubt. I get twitchy if it’s down for even a short amount of time!

Q. If you could live in any era in history when would it be and why?

A. I think I’d love to live in feudal Japan. Certainly not the most pleasant time to live in, but there is an odd romanticism for me to it, like the way some people feel about the medieval ages in Europe, which also wasn’t a very pleasant era to live in. When it comes to historical pieces, I always find the feudal Japanese ones among my favorites.

Q. What would be your dream job?

A. I’m lucky in that I have it! I love being a librarian and couldn’t imagine doing anything else! I feel so fortunate every day that I’m in a career I enjoy and not just something that “pays the bills.”

Q. Whom do you admire (it doesn’t have to be someone famous)?

A. The Drag Queen Latrice Royale, who’s inspiring positive attitude while being a “large and in charge, chunky yet funky” individual opened my eyes to how beautiful being big can be, and made me get over my own body issues. This experience inspired one of my short stories, and I was lucky enough to get to meet her this month, which was amazing!

Q. Do you know the Muffin Man?

A. Heh, I know someone who makes the most amazing cookies ever, my friend Cody, and he actually appears in my Blogaversary and (altered into a bard) in Bibliotaph. His cookies have reached Epic Status around the library where I work… and yes, he’s made muffins before on request, as well! So I’d say he’s the Cookie Man, but subs as the Muffin Man when needed. (The muffins he made me where potato pumpkin blueberry… if you think that sounds crazy, just remember, we are Idahoans. ^_~ )

Q. What are you wearing right now, and be honest?

A. Well, it’s a Sunday, which means I am home, sitting in front of my computer. Standard fare for being at home is pajamas… always pajamas. Since it is the middle of August, pajamas at this time of year is a simple, sleeveless nightgown that ends mid-thigh and is quite light-weight. I won’t pull the pajama pants out until it cools off.

Q. Who is your writer role-model?

A. I don’t know if I’d say I have any role-models, as I don’t model my writing after anyone in particular. I certainly have a lot of authors I love to read (my two favorite authors are Anne McCaffrey and Anne Bishop, and I’m actually leaving to a convention tomorrow to meet Anne Bishop, so excited!), but none I’d say have influenced my writing in any special way.

Q. Are you currently, or have you ever been, in love?

A. Usually when people ask this, they always mean “romantic love.” I am asexual, which means that I do not experience sexual attraction. But because asexuality is never taught as an “option” (at least not in my neck of the woods) I went through quite a period of confusion when I was younger. I felt love… but I don’t think it was the kind of love I was led to believe people are supposed to feel for each other, because I didn’t experience sexual attraction and did not enjoy or desire intimacy. It was more of a special platonic love… something like friendship but much deeper. I guess what lovers might have if you removed having to kiss and cuddle and have sex. Sadly, non-Ace partners aren’t satisfied with that, so those relationships fell apart, and I was left wondering what was wrong with me for a long time, until I finally found the website AVEN: Asexuality Visibility and Education Network and everything fell into place. I’m an aromantic asexual. So no, I haven’t ever “been in love” the way people think when they ask that question. I have several friendships that are extremely deep and meaningful and are, to me, a form of love and very important to my life, and would be heartbreaking if I were to lose those people.

Q. What is your Zodiac sign?

A. Well, that would depend on which sign you mean (I studied a bit of astrology back in my high school days, heh). I am a Pisces Sun, a Capricorn Moon, a Scorpio Ascendant (and I really could do all the planets on my chart)… I used to make natal charts for fun in high school, but once I got into astronomy when I got older, I didn’t care for astrology one lick, hahaha. (It really was a phase…) I was really into astronomy for years, too, in a local club until one of the members was kinda a creeper and turned me off. I was trained on an observatory telescope! The night sky is still one of my guilty pleasures.

Q. Can you recite the English ABC’s backwards?

A. Not a chance. I have problems with memory and overall “derpiness” from a medication I’m on to try to control my chronic migraine. Trying to get the concentration to do a known pattern in reverse like that would be nil impossible for me, heh.

Q. Do you speak a second language? What is your primary and secondary language, if so?

A. I do not. I took two years of French in high school but don’t remember much of it at all (the whole “don’t use it, you lose it”). I know a fair bit more of Japanese just from my love of Japanese culture (I can write hiragana and katakana, I can recognize a handful of kanji though I can’t write them, my stroke order is atrocious). My vocabulary is decent but since I don’t know more than pretty elementary grammar, I can’t do much with it. There isn’t more than the most basic of Japanese education in my area (and I took all of that) so I was never able to learn more even though I wanted to, and its been so many years now even the basic stuff is a bit rusty now. I could probably stumble by as a tourist there.

Q. How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?

A. Probably all the boards that the Mongols hoard if the Mongol hordes got bored.

Q. How did you first hear about and begin playing The Sims?

A. I always knew about it as a fan of simulation games, but sort of avoided it on purpose because I knew it would take over my life. After I was finished with college and settled into my career (read: OLD) I finally decided to look into it. A YouTuber I liked had a lot of videos out about the recently released Sims 4 and I decided to look into it, but the pricetag and the fact I wasn’t very keen on having patches and new content being released for years to come turned me off: call me old-fashioned, but I grew up in an age where when you bought a game, it was “complete.” So I instead decided to buy Sims 3 (yes, I bought Sims 3 the week Sims 4 released!) knowing I wouldn’t have to deal with patches and all the expansions and content was out there. It was also so cheap! I have no regrets!

Q. Game of choice: the original Sims, Sims 2, Sims 3, Sims 4, etc.

A. Since I haven’t played them all, I can’t really answer this. I’ve only played Sims 3 thus far. I actually do own a copy of Sims 2 base game, but haven’t had a chance to try it out yet!

Q. What does The Sims mean to you?

A. Community. I made such a wealth of friends that I was never expecting from this game and I can’t be thankful enough for that!

Q. As player and fan, what life lessons has The Sims taught you?

A. Probably the importance of how what seems like the most inconsequential action can have major consequences! Simply picking the wrong thing to talk about from the interaction wheel can end up upsetting someone in the worst way… and how true is it that people actually do overreact to the most mundane of things?

Q. If you could incorporate any part of The Sims into real life what would it be and why?

A. The fact that you can simply go to the fridge and the food you need is always there. You don’t have to go grocery shopping! The cost of said ingrediants is just deducted from your account, but said food just seems to magically spawn in the fridge. I hate grocery shopping, so to have such magical fridge would be a GOD SEND!

Q. In the world of The Sims, do you prefer reading Simlit, watching an LP, or watching Sims Machinima? Or do you like a combination?

A. I actually haven’t seen a machinima yet, but certainly would like to. I actually first really learned about the series and got my initially interest in it — especially story-telling aspects — from watching Let’s Plays! I really wanted to share stories from my own game the way LPers do through their videos, but I don’t have the equipment or personality for that… it wasn’t until later I found my first Simlit story and realized that was even a possibility, and that I could totally do that! Now I enjoy reading Simlit and watching LPs both; they are just different forms of storytelling!

Q. What are the best moments of your story/legacy?

A. In Cat Chronicles, I really love the moments Rose shares with her granddaughter Ivy, becuase they remind me of times I spent hanging out with my grandmother when I was a child. And the full short story “Remembering Earl” (which is often skipped by Cat Chronicles readers because it is from Rose’s perspective) is actually my favorite thing I’ve ever written! In Yandere Diaries, the last chapter before I went on hiatus (and the following short story “Lost in Space”) were surprisingly emotional for me, and I can’t wait until I have the time to work on that story again! Of my short stories, “Bibliotaph” wormed an unexpected special place in my heart.

Q. Why did you choose your legacy or story to write?

A. When I first got Sims 3, it was a Base Game + Pets bundle, so that was my first experience with the game. Originally I learned how to play the game (mainly by messing up a lot) using a Simself who lived with an adopted cat, Casanova (and these two still appear on my site from time to time). I really did enjoy the Sim + cat household, and when I decided I wanted to start a story, I thought it would be fun to write from the cat’s perspective. Once the idea was in my head, I pretty much knew I wanted my catlady to be an elder (an oft ignored character type in SimLit) and adopting a kitten as a means to deal with the grief of losing her husband would be the jumping off point of the story. When I decided to start The Yandere Diaries, I think I had been browsing a challenge forum and saw there was a Yandere Challenge, and it piqued my interest because I’m a fan of Japanese culture, but I didn’t really like the actual challenge rules. But it got my brain moving in that direction, and I ended up creating all the families for Riverview over the course of a week for a story that would be focused around a yandere main character.

Q. Who are the characters you don’t like?

A. Huh… I don’t know if I have a character I don’t like, but then, I’m that weird person that often enjoys villains in stories more than the heroes, or side characters more than main characters. Cora is supposed to be a character that is not liked on principle (considering the awful things she does), but actually is one of my favorite Sims… she has this odd way of seeming to just “know” what is going on and eerily mug for the camera like she’s all too aware she’s the star of a televised murder drama. She cracks me up with her antics quite often! (But I could totally get it if other people hated her… she is a murderer after all!)

Q. Do you currently have a favorite Sim? If so, who is it and why?

A. I will always have a soft spot for Cora as a deeply special and loved Sim… it’s a shame her story really didn’t hit it off and has gone on hiatus as a result. She just… seemed to break the fourth wall in a wall I have not had any other Sim do. But from my current series, I am really attached to Rose Hatcher. She has all the quirks you’d expect of an old woman who’s mind has deteriorated quite a bit, but she is still filled with so much love and warmth, and the raw emotion she displays over the husband she’s lost within the last year always gets me in the feels. She acts so utterly human that it astounds me… is this really only a Sim?

Q. Do you use your current main characters for other different stories/legacies? If yes, do they live the same lives? Are they the same people?

A. So far, I’ve only used them in short stories, and I write those short stories so that they will “fit in” with the main story (but also not really hurt anything if someone choses to skip over them). So they are the same characters living their same lives. I have thought though, in the future when these stories are over, about using the characters again and having it being totally alternate universe: for example, having Cora be one of the insane inmates in an Insane Aslyum Challenge, or using Shadow as a kitten-daddy in a 100 Kitten Challenge, that sort of thing.

Q. As player and fan, which thing(s) is/are lacking sometimes to prevent you from going forward in your story? How do you bypass these issues?

A. Sometimes I have to use strange camera angles for actions that just aren’t possible/poses I can’t find that will work for me and hope the imagination of the reader with the written portions will fill things in. The lack of custom content available for toddler/children/teens has proven to be an issue with a story I’ve been working on world-building for a while, and I’ve had to work on ways of just building the world around why certain races don’t have certain physical characteristics until they are “older” as a result (seriously cc makers, why do you only make items for adult Sims?) Recently I’ve run into an issue where I want to write a short story for Yandere Diaries that takes place in junior high, but that is a life state that doesn’t exist, and have been unsure how to create Sims that would look the part since Child is too young but Teen would look the same age as the Sims are currently (I might have to use a height slider, something I’ve never wanted to use, just for the shorts for that one story, then remove it when I’m done).

Q. Are you inspired by other Sims writers?

A. All the time! When I started writing both Cat Chronicles and Yandere Diaries, it was over on Live Journal, I hadn’t found a Sim community yet, and I didn’t have any readers. Finding a Sim community, my eyes were suddenly opened to how much SimLit was out there, and just reading all the other stories around me made me realize all the mistakes I’d been making up to that point. I’m pretty embarrassed by it now. Some things I can’t fix now in retrospect (my poor screenshotting abilities when I started), but some things I can (like I plan to go back and re-write Yandere Diaries before I move forward because I’m unhappy with the style).

Q. How many worlds do you use for your story? Which one? And why?

A. So far, I only have needed one main world for each of my stories (my saves haven’t fallen victim to instability to require having to move!) I chose Appaloosa Plains for Cat Chronicles simply because it’s the only world that has a high pet population already, without me having to go add a bunch in (which would’ve been a lot of work), so Shadow would have some animals to interact with. I chose Riverview for Yandere Diaries because I have this affinity for that town because it reminds me a little of my own town (the community I live in is more deserty, but highly a farming community and on the edge of a canyon with a large river that runs right on the edge of town). I thought the large river and it being a quiet “farming” town sort of made it an ideal place for “bodies to go missing” and for the location of a murder mystery. In my short stories, I use a variety of towns, whatever I can set up my set in and work with. I always include the world I used for a particular story in my tags.

Q. Are there gameplay actions or objects you never use in your story/legacy and why?

A. There is actually still so much of Sims 3 I have never explored, despite having many expansion packs! I think I really need a story that would make exploring some of these functions more feasible, but so far, a lot of these things just haven’t really been needed in my current stories (I’d often add an expansion pack for one little thing, like University Life because I wanted Cora to have a smart phone!) I’ll finally get to explore going to University in the future of Yandere Diaries, but I’m not sure when I’ll ever do the World Adventures stuff, try out all the careers from Ambitions, or do anything with Island Paradise (that’s one I added only to get the cosmetic items to create an aquatic race for a story I’ve been world-building on the side!) I guess if I ever had the time, I’d need to go an Expansion Pack legacy or something to fully try everything out? Even with Pets, the pack I’ve had the longest and used the most, I have done absolutely nothing with horses yet! Everyone wonders why I don’t have another Sims game, but I haven’t even scratched the surface of exploring what I can do in Sims 3 yet!

Q. If you use others Sims in your story, do you follow the original story or make them different?

A. I have only ever had a few Sims over in my Blogaversary post, and since that was kind of a humorous thing, I didn’t have to worry to much. I am going to have a few Sims guest appearing from some stories in a future Cat Chronicles, but lucky for me, from Shadow’s perspective, he knows little about two-leggers and that means I don’t have to worry about their personification (they wouldn’t have dialogue or anything). I think if I was ever going to have someone else’s Sim be a mainstay in one of my works, I would never be able to write them like their original author, because I’m not that author, so that person would have to donate them knowing they are going to be a different character based on that fact.

Q. Where do you see yourself (as a writer) in five years from now?

A. Hopefully still writing! I don’t aspire to ever do this professionally or anything. Hopefully the Sims will still be a part of my writing, but who knows what five years will bring. What I do know is I love interactive writing, and I find the game brings around those feelings for me without needing another co-author, so hopefully I’ll still be churning out silly cat stories. Considering how sloooooooow I write, maybe I’ll still be working on the same one. ^_~

Q. Where was your strongest area of growth as a writer?

A. I think that as I continue to learn how to use my tool (Sims 3) better, and continue to experiment with different tones and styles in the Short Story Challenges each month, I’ve made a lot of growth as a writer from when I first started, both in screenshot abilities and in laying out a tale. More specifically, I think finding versatility. I used to think I could not write humor at all, but I’ve had several short stories that got comments that were along the lines of “that was hilarious!” and for me, that was huge praise, because I never thought I’d be able to accomplish penning a good joke or stroking a tone that would make someone laugh! I also have a few short stories that made my readers cry, so being able to write two different emotional extremes well enough to evoke a response means a lot to me.

Q. Favorite part of writing? Is it the characters? The plot itself? Why?

A. For me, my background is in interactive writing on play-by-post forums, and I always loved that sense of “surprise” in not knowing where exactly my writing partner was going to take the story. Now that I write SimLit, I see the game itself as my writing partner, and continually love to be surprised by the twists and turns that the game throws my way. I may go into a play session with a certain idea in mind, and end up with a chapter that goes in an entirely different direction as a result. That sense of being surprised and not knowing exactly how things are going to play out gives me real enjoyment!

Q. Do you listen to music while you write?

A. I actually don’t! Most people find this weird, but since I have chronic headache, it’s actually more comfortable for me to work to quiet. I do, however, sometimes like to play RainyMood in the background.

Q. Favorite mod or piece of CC for any Sim game?

A. Probably Master Controller and Story Progression by Nraas, because I use these two in every game I play, with a variety of settings that I have optimized that keep my Sims 3 happy so I don’t have the sort of gameplay trouble that I hear so many other TS3ers complain about.

Q. What’s your favorite part of the Simlit community?

A. All the friends I’ve made as a result! When I first started writing Simlit, all my online friends just didn’t care at all about my Simlit cause they were like, “Eh, it’s Sims.” They couldn’t get past that hurdle just because they didn’t play the game. They didn’t understand they are just pictures illustrating a story, just like a children’s book has pictures, and Sims and Sims knowledge has little to do with it. I had to find other Simmers to share my writing with, to feel engaged, and it has been so fulfilling! I’ve learned so much, have felt so enriched, and have had so much fun!

Q. Why do you use the blogging medium (WordPress, Blogger, etc) that you use?

A. Honestly, I started my blog on Livejournal, but the Simlit community wouldn’t read my story there, because it was an “outdated technology.” I realized that in order to get anyone to visit my story, I was going to have to move it to “where everyone else was” and that is why I relocated to WordPress. To be honest, there are a lot of things that drive me crazy about it, because Livejournal offers many features for free that WordPress requires you have a paid account to do, but it did work — moving to WordPress, people started to visit my story. So in the end, things worked out… even if I am eternally annoyed that WordPress won’t let me do something as simple as change the color of my links.

Q. What is your favorite screenshot to this day that you have taken in a Sims game? Why? Tag it on to your question so we can all see it too, if you have it still!

A. I don’t have it uploaded, but I actually saved one screencap from this old save file from back before I wrote Simlit. I was playing a Brothel Challenge, and one of my, uh, “workers” ended up crashing at a campsite in a cabin after finishing up his job with a customer. The customer Sim of course took off at some point, but I just left my worker-Sim there filling up his sleep, and as I switched back over to the Brothel checking on the other workers and switched back, I saw some random Sim standing over his bed, staring at him… and thinking about him in his thought bubble. It was incredibly creepy, but also made me laugh so hard. At that time I was really knew to Simming and I paused and looked up how to take a screencap just to save that moment. It’s the only picture I still have from my early game files, so it has special memories for me.

My Nominees

By this point in the game most of the sites I follow regularly have already received a nomination for this award, and I certainly don’t expect anyone to have to alter their acceptance posts/answer more questions, so please don’t on my account! But keeping in the spirit of the award, I wanted to list people that, in some way, help bring sunshine into my world, be it by providing a lot of positivity when I’m not feeling well with my headaches, staying dedicated to my work despite the slow updates, helping me out with my questions concerning Sims 3 or writing in general, or simply doing something kind for me without expecting anything in return. You guys are awesome!

AdamsEve1231, The Krazy Crazy Life of Kassiopeia Fullbright
CathyTea, Cathy Tea’s SimLit Anthology
chealsycat, Goldilocks and Bears
OJenn, Simthology
Ra3rei, Raerei’s Fortress
RebornMonster, Life is an Odyssey
Simsophonique, Simsophonique and The Sims
Spottydog714, Spottydog714
sweetnightingale, As Tears Go By
Twiggy, Twiggy’s Sims Adventures
ValoisFulcanelli, The Madness of Mr. Goth

Questions For My Nominees

Again, if you have already received a nomination, feel free to ignore these! (Or if you really feel inclined to answer them but have already posted your Sunshine Blogging Award, you are always welcome to answer them in the comments here if you like).

1. What is the first Sims game you played?
2. Favorite expansion/stuff pack/game pack?
3. What is your favorite book or author?
4. What is your favorite fictional genre?
5. Is there a song that always brings you to tears?
6. What is your favorite vacation destination?
7. Pick your poison (what is your drink of choice?)
8. Let’s play kiss, marry, kill, only with your Sims! (That is, of your Sims, which one would you most like to kiss, which one would you most like to marry, and which one would you most like to kill?)
9. What are five hobbies you enjoy?
10. What is your favorite fictional creature?
11. Against a zombie, what would be your weapon of choice?

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Twiggy says:

    Congratulations, Sara! It is nice to get to know you a bit better by reading your acceptance post(s). The wit you write this with is great. I also thank you for your nomination of my blog, naturally :) ~hugs~

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sara Just a quick hello .I have a bunch to read about you :) and congratulations on being nominated your short story and the cat chronicle are just a real pleasure to read .I nominated you but I am not sure if it’s visible for everybody.Thank you for nominated me.I am honoured except sometimes as tonight i hate my game.i’ll restart the game i had today because it was a mess.salomé party was boring :'( for the leisure day i have nothing to tell.

    I do all my best for being as close as possible of my followers and if sometimes I take time to answer it’s because i am busy bee at house.and soon for my real life.I’ll be back at you very very soon.
    We got common point, Astrology and Astromony.Except Istart to love Astronomy and I am still and I fell into Astrology some years ago, and believe me I am rather skeptical about my own chart even though, well read it’s bring the truth on people and on the world.
    MIne is so laughable a hint, i have got squares on friendly signs .n’importe quoi !

    I just want to tell you i read the short story with Latrice I loved it in between, and i try to get the 30 posts at the official forums to meet the simlit people.I have currently 20 or 21. I have to disconnect it’s far late here.i’ll reply you asap and for the questions too .

    Liked by 1 person

    • What is your favorite object in the night sky? Mine is the Pleaides star cluster! I love how it looks sort of fuzzy to the naked eye, but then if you really focus on it, you can just make out the tiny little dipper of stars on a really clear night! I also love carbon stars through a telescope… that deep red color is beautiful!

      Liked by 2 people

      • I don’t have any favourites I never really think of Astronomy is my interest since my childhood I am impressed at everything above us.Everything is so bright,colourful and very beautiful and strange.
        I never had the chance to see through a telescop and even though we got an observatory here i never went to, fortunately we got celestia and stellarium, last time I see an Earth transit to the sun as we got for venus some years ago thanks celestia, something we can’t see it even with a telescope.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. chealsycat says:

    Congratulations on the award, Sara!
    I loved reading your answers. It’s so interesting to learn more about you! Thanks for sharing!
    Also thank you for nominating me! _<

    Liked by 1 person

    • chealsycat says:

      For some reason the rest of my comment is “eaten up”. (Maybe because of “more” “less” signs :( ) So I write again:
      Thank you for nominating me! ❤
      I only hope that I won’t be death sentenced if it takes me too long to write the acceptance. >_<

      Liked by 1 person

  4. cathytea says:

    Loved your answers! And your questions are inspiring, too! Thanks for the nomination! :)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats, Sara! It was so great to get to know you a bit more and to see more about you. Thanks so much for nominating me. :) I’m honored, and Debbie and Nathaniel thank you, too. They can certainly use more sunshine in their lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations! :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

