The Cat Chronicles Day 38: Hunting Lessons


Mrwahaha… a stray mutt is using the wrinkly one’s plaything as a chewtoy, and it’s just about that time of day when she faces the cold white stuff to get the plaything. This should be amusing enough to actually leave my nice comfy spot by the viewing-wall.


Oh, I haven’t heard the wrinkly one shout that loud since the time I left a mouse in her sleeping place!

That’s right, get out of here, mutt! Go enjoy the cold wet stuff, there’s only room here for the most sophisticated of animals!


Aaah… that was fun, well worth interrupting comfy warm time to properly glower at a canine… but now I do believe it is time to lay on top of that spot where the warm air comes out of the ground and take a catnap before my mate steals it– hey, wait a minute. Wrinkly One, Two-Legger, where are you going with the kittens!?

So much for napping… *sigh* Guess I’d better let my mate know…

…Hey, Little One, wait up! If the little one is running at that pace, she is surely following the trail of kittens…


Ah, it’s the cat heaven! Wrinkly One, this is a terrible time to bring my kittens to Cat Heaven, when it’s cold and wet! Perhaps that’s why you look so confused…


You’re so strange, Wrinkly One. It’s impossible to know what is going through that two-legger brain of yours.


Well son, since we are here, I think it is time I started to teach you the finer points of hunting. You have to learn sometime, and learning in harsh conditions is only going to benefit you in the long run. You’ll thank me some day.


See that? Your mother and sister immediately go to the food bowls! That is the easy way to get a meal! That is not the hunter’s way of feeding! You never know when the food bowl might be empty… or even worse… not there! Yes, I know, it is hard to imagine, but for many cats that is the reality, and why a feline must always be prepared…


Look! That’s… No! It can’t be!

*sniff sniff*

I can’t believe my nose! I haven’t seen you since I was a kitten! Why, I taught this she-tabby all about hunting techniques when I was still your size, son!


What? What do you mean you were the one that taught me? Seems you are losing your memory in your old age, Tabby Cat!

Don’t listen to her, Three-Paw.


So, Tabby Cat, do you think you could play rodent again for a little while? I’d really like to show my boy here how to do some hunting moves, you know, just the basics–


–like the stalk-and-pounce, the tuck-and-roll, the pin-and-neck-gouge…

…Hey, heeeeey! Three-Paw! What did I just say about the food bowl not being the hunter’s way of feeding?! Have you been listening to anything I’ve been saying?


Now, when hunting, you want to make sure you always have the top position! This is the alpha position, the position of dominance and power! It says “I am the hunter, you are the prey!” It also makes it easy to pin with your paws, like so.


From that position, you can get over your prey and roll the body, exposing the vulnerable neck to your teeth!

But be careful of the counter-attack, from both the prey’s teeth and hind legs!


…Have you got all of that, Three-Paw?

*SIGH*

Your mother and I did not raise you as a puppy, stop rolling around in that puddle this instant and pay attention!


All right, perhaps the only way you’ll learn is from hands-on experience. I’ll give you a head start!


Hmm… What is the wrinkly one up to? Stacking the cold wet stuff with the little one… normally I approve of having more high places, but the “cold” and “wet” aspects turn me off…


The Queen’s two-legger is… Oh, that’s disconcerting. What happened to the traction on her paws?


Okay Three-Paw, are you ready?

The first thing you must learn is that in conditions like this, a hunter can easily stalk his prey by the tracks they leave behind…


…Aaaaaaaaand Daddy’s found you!


Note this pounce technique!


Mrarararaw!


Shall I show you that move again?


Hey, Three-Paw, where are you going? Three-Paw? Oh, don’t just run straight for the food bowl! I’m telling you, learning to hunt really is for your own good!


Look, the two-leggers are still busy using the cold wet stuff as a plaything…


…So we have plenty of time for more lessons!

*SIGH*

Fine, be that way!


Hey, She-Tabby, want another go, just for fun?

…Okay, okay, I’ll take that as a no!


This is one of those parts where things didn’t go quite as intended. If anyone remembers Day 36: Persistence, Rose was reading a newspaper in which there was supposed to be a party at the cat park next door, the Great Cat Roundup, however when I showed up at the designated time… not a Sim was in sight! I guess no catlovers of Appaloosa Plains were as persistent as Rose to face all that snow to meet up with other catlovers? She was quite confused, like, “Today was the day, right? I read about it in the paper, I could’ve sworn… or is this my dementia acting up on me yet again?” I think she really wanted to show off those kittens, the way a grandma likes showing off pictures of their grandkids, hahaha! In any event, she still had fun enjoying the winter weather with her family in the quiet park, so lemonade was made of those lemons, and I loved the tiny-kitten-lost-in-snow pictures and managed to do something pretty fun with them!

Day 37 | Side Story: Memories | Day 39

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Cat Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Cat Chronicles Day 38: Hunting Lessons

  1. cathytea says:

    This is totally delightful !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lisabeesims says:

    What a joyful distraction from the yuck going on … a little kitty shenanigans is what is right for the tired eyes

    Liked by 1 person

  3. chealsycat says:

    Oh Shadow! How glad am I to see him again!
    As for the event where no sim showed up – the Sims 3 is weird sometimes. My witch was invited to a pool party in winter. When she came there (in a swimsuit!), there was no one at home. :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • This wasn’t a private house party (though I have seen that happen and have had to reset the sim to “force” them back home), rather a public event scheduled in the newspaper. The last time one of those cat events was scheduled in the paper a ton of people were at the park so I was suprised no one generated this time. At least Maria Lionheart, the tabby, was around for amusement. ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

    • A similar stuffs happened to me long time ago, in a other save without using the mc and far before my story. My simself organised a houseparty and noone came at home lol. Usually when she invited to a party in my current game save, she always coming later.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. ThuggishSplicer says:

    Sometimes it’s great when things get out of hand and give us a new result. I was reading this post while waiting for a friend and it cracked me up several times. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Spottydog714 says:

    Yay! I love these :) LOVED the update. And poor Shadow. You’ll learn in time kids never cooperate.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I never really care of this kind of events because i know nobody will come,my game is not full of pets and my vallerian don’t care.
    And about Shadow, he discovers the joy of the parenthood. like two-leggers, it’s hard to convince a little fur one to obey,

    Liked by 1 person

    • His kittens really did take more after their mother, both in looks and in personality, hahaha! Cayln is the friendly, playful one and Shadow is all about hunting and fighting, hahaha!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Caylin is close to Mistigriff . She is among others friendly and playful.
        I like Shadow traits, he’s a little bit close more as real cats are.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Shadow actually is exactly like the cat I had as a child trait-wise. When Rose had a choice to adopt a kitten at the beginning of the game it was between Shadow and Cayln, and I went for the kitten with the traits I felt an actual person probably wouldn’t adopt (Aggressive, Adventurous, Hunter) but thinking back on it, the stray my family took in when I was a kid, Tabby, had that exact personality! I find it odd the game generated an exact trait match of my old treasured cat.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sorry for my late reply more two month later
        Things happened the game generated coincidence with your own life I can’t explain this but I am myself self chocked. I just hope the game doesn’t read our mind too much ahah.
        So I wasn’t wrong when I told you Shadow has got usual trait cats has especially stray which have to survive. I also have got a cat in my game close to Shadow who is very “negative” , it’s Charleston the kitten of Anne-Lise one of my silly sims.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Emily Anne says:

    All caught up! I love it so far :D

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Twiggy says:

    Great to catch up on Shadow’s shenanigans with a cup of tea and some time to spare :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

