Memories

In this world you tried
Not leaving me alone behind
There’s no other way
I’ll pray to the gods: let him stay

The memories ease the pain inside
Now I know why…

All of my memories
Keep you near
In silent moments
Imagine you’d be here
All of my memories
Keep you near
The silent whispers, silent tears

Made me promise I’d try
To find my way back in this life

I hope there is a way
To give me a sign you’re okay

Reminds me again
It’s worth it all
So I can go home

All of my memories
Keep you near
In silent moments
Imagine you’d be here
All of my memories
Keep you near
The silent whispers, silent tears

Together in all these memories
I see your smile
All the memories I hold dear
Darling you know I love you till the end of time

All of my memories
Keep you near
In silent moments
Imagine you’d be here
All of my memories
Keep you near


The silent whispers, silent tears

“Memories” by Within Temptation (listen on YouTube)


This little compilation of scenes from The Cat Chronicles set to the lyrics “Memories” by Within Temptation is in honor of Purple Day, a Simming event honoring the memory of beloved Sims that have passed away. You can find out more about it at the Purple Day Sims website or the Purple Day Sims forum thread.

I have noticed by and large that most readers of The Cat Chronicles tend to skip over the two side stories that are from the perspective of Shadow’s “Wrinkly One,” Rose Hatcher — Remembering Earl, which I wrote for Purple Day last year (and happens to still be my most favorite piece I’ve written yet), and Edgar Evans Award. I would like to point out that if it wasn’t for this wrinkly old lady with a broken heart of gold, Shadow wouldn’t have had a story — like so many shelter animals with a poor disposition (he is quite aggressive!), his chances of being adopted would’ve been slim, and he likely would’ve been euthanized. This one act of kindness, which gave this chance at life for this amazing animal, was born from the deepest recesses of grief. I think that Purple Day is a great time to reflect that even through death and grief, great things can be born.

If you are interested in knowing more about this lady’s journey, I’d encourage you to check out her two stories linked above… by next Purple Day, the story that will be told will no longer be “Remembering Earl,” but “Remembering Rose.” That is still a hard reality for me to accept, but I know Grim’s shadow is already creeping up on the Wrinkly One. I really love that old catlady, and she will be missed.

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Cat Chronicles, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Memories

  1. cathytea says:

    Um… can’t you just turn aging off?

    This was so beautiful–those lyrics! I cried. It really hit me.

    I love the two other stories you mentioned–they’re beautiful. Thanks for touching my heart!

    Liked by 1 person

    • To be brutally honest, Rose has been being medicated on life fruit for a little while now. T_T I always tell myself, “Well, she needs to be around for…” and then after that, I say, “Oh, well now she needs to be around for…” There is always one more event she just “has to be there for.” But when I really sat down and thought about it, it didn’t feel right. I didn’t get that choice when my grandpa had cancer. I wished he had “one more Christmas”… but he didn’t. I wished he had “one more day” past October 19, 2006, but it wasn’t to be. I know I have to let Rose be with Earl again. It’s just the right thing to do. But I know it’s going to get me in the feels hard when it does.

      I know on one of those award questionnaires I’d asked “Is there a song that always brings tears to your eyes?” This song actually happens to be the one that does that for me!

      Liked by 2 people

      • cathytea says:

        I had never heard the song–just reading the lyrics brought tears! And I can understand about Rose. I’ve felt that way with Sims before. I don’t know if you read Goofy Love or heard about Sugar and her autonomous decisions regarding staying young… when it happened, I felt so relieved for being able to let her decide!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my favourite songs of Within Temptation :) with Say my Name , Angels and Stay My Ground that’s why the lyrics said me something but as I don’t listen this music since a long time ago .
    I love the way you adapt the lyrics in the loss of the Wrinkle One husband death.
    I perhaps can’t takepart to the purple day, my game is crashy with cc. I can’t play it and I haven’t any death in my sims.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m a huge Within Temptation fan, I love all those songs!

      I remember listening to this song a lot around 2006 when my grandfather passed away, so now I always think of that when I hear it, so I really can’t help but tear up when I hear the lyrics. But it is still such a beautiful song and very dear to my heart.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It is no matter individual stories connected with the song. I casually don’t fond of symphonic metal but some songs are very powerful and beautiful.
        and if we connect a song to a loss of a member of the family it hurts much and it emphasizes the power and the meaning of it.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. chealsycat says:

    Awesome! So touching! :'(

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is so beautiful! I loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Twiggy says:

    I simply love your side stories of The Cat Chronicles! They add so much depth to the story of Shadow and give a glimpse of the people surrounding him in a way Shadow could never tell us <3

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

