The Cat Chronicles Day 39: Feline Philanthropy



Ah, kittens, you are getting so big. I don’t doubt that one day you will have two-leggers of your own, just like your mother and I have, because you are fine felines indeed. But there is still much you must learn when it comes to dealing with two-leggers… so much you must learn.

Do you see the wrinkly one right now? That is the sound two-leggers make when they are upset like a kitten that needs fresh milk. In exchange for warmth and comfy places and food, it is a cat’s job to show appreciation to its two-legger on occassion… especially when the two-legger is being mewly.


Freshly hunted rodents or reptiles make an excellent gift. Two-leggers are terrible hunters, and this will let them know how much you were thinking of them by offering them a tasty morsel right at their feet that they don’t even have to catch themselves! Isn’t that thoughtful?


Also keep in mind how utterly lacking in fur your two-legger is. If they leave their removable fur-bits anywhere you can reach, make sure to cover them thoroughly with proper fur. Your two-legger will appreciate this so they don’t get cold!


Look for items that your two-legger uses but has mistakenly misplaced. You can do them a great favor by swatting these items some place that will more likely catch their attention. This works so well often the two-legger will remove the item and give you a proper jangly-plaything to swat around instead for your trouble!


Oh, good thinking, kittens! Two-leggers are sneaky and like to hide things they obviously use for some strange reason… I’m sure the wrinkly one will appreciate that you found that for her!


Also, don’t forget about items that two-leggers use frequently. This means that they cherish them dearly! Show them that you notice by making them more easily accessible for them.


That always gets a great reaction!


Also, there is no need to feel shame in leaving a little gift of a coughed up furball or some kitty vomit from time to time. These send the message that you are a tidily groomed cat, well fed, and you really enjoy gnawing that leafy-thing they keep in the corner, while at the same time sending the subtle message that it is time they change up the dry niblets.


See, nothing says “I should give the kitties wet food for a while” like some regurgitated niblets!

Okay, that might be more of a gift for us, but…


And lastly, if you think there is something causing distress for your two-legger — especially if that something is covered with shiny bits and lots of fun round things to swat and bat with your paws — then go ahead and take it on! Imagine the joy you will bring your two-legger when you defeat that beast, one round shiny piece at a time! Your mother has already broken three!


But, one final word of advice, kittens… If, at any point, your two-legger decides to reciprocate your kindness by taking the fun stringy plaything and… well… turning it into small abnormal cat-sized fur-coverings…


Run… Run as fast as you can!


This was written for the December Monthly Simlits Short Story Challenges thread from the Sims forums, which tasked folks to write a story in 500-2000 words using 1-15 screencaps using the theme “Gift.” I used 524 words and 12 screencaps. It is part of my Cat Chronicles series and features characters from that series, but should hopefully work as a standalone piece.

This one really challenged me to have to get creative with angles to try to tell things with a limited amount of custom content available for the things I wanted to do… who would’ve thought, people just don’t make cc of cats destroying things! For example, I simply couldn’t find toilet paper off the roll anywhere, hense the “cutaway” shot. I couldn’t find knitting poses and had to get creative with in-game animations and angles to make it look like Rose was knitting, and the only cat sweater cc I could find was a paid-cc item, which I’m morally against (not to mention it’s against EA’s TOS) so I sadly couldn’t actually put Shadow in a cat sweater for the last shot… it required a lot of using what props I did have and hoping the implications would get across. My friend Cody pointed out it is a lot like stage plays, where there is a limited amount of what actors can do with their sets and available props, so they have to plan carefully what the audience “sees”… I’d never thought about it before, but it is so true!

Also, Rose crying over the Christmas tree was completely autonomous… it was the first thing she did after I added the holiday decorations to the house. I guess her first Christmas without Earl is getting to her, poor thing. T_T

Day 38 | Day 40

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Cat Chronicles, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Cat Chronicles Day 39: Feline Philanthropy

  1. Spottydog714 says:

    Love this one! I don’t see why it can’t be a submission. :)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. cathytea says:

    So sad that she autonomously cried at the tree ! And I loved this story ! I like your strategy for the illustrations . I don’t use posers, so I tend to think in terms of low-budget films, the way Cody thought of the stage .

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I was really surprised by that, but I recalled how torn up my grandmother was the first Christmas after my grandfather passed away… it really reminded me of that! I’m just always so surprised at just how much personality Sims show with no intervention… it’s eery, in a way!

      Liked by 1 person

      • cathytea says:

        Yes, same with my mom, and all of us, really, after my dad passed. Took me years before I felt like putting up lights again. I wonder sometimes about that coding of the AI and AE of those Sims! Very profound!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. lisabeesims says:

    LOL learning the ropes .. from a knowledgeable teacher!! <3

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Loved this story! So cute and comical. :)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, this was so cute and adorable…and funny! LOL. Shadow showing the ropes to,the kitties is so cute and comical. And Rose crying over the Christmas tree. :( Loved this story. :)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. chealsycat says:

    Oh, Shadow! You’re such a great teacher! I’d give your instructions to my cats, but they seem to be well educated felines already. :D =^.^=

    Liked by 2 people

  7. chealsycat says:

    I love the first picture with Rose at the Christmas tree – so touching! :'(

    Liked by 1 person

  8. True, cat always thinks we are inferior beings and we can’t eat at all , they don’t understand we got a different way of life.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Twiggy says:

    You must have been a cat in a former lifetime lol You really know how these cats think alike. Great story, congrats on placing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

