Teatime Tuesday #2: Headache Tea

As most readers of my stories know by now, I have Chronic Migraine — something I have been dealing with for years. What started as Episodic Migraine back in my teens, it has persistently gotten worse and worse as I’ve gotten older, and for the last decade or so the condition has been classified as “chronic” due to the high frequency of migraine attacks I get within a single month (typically 15 or more days a month). Despite trying everything from bucketloads of medications to chiropractors to massage therapy to physical therapy to [insert weird alternative snake oil health practice here], nothing has really helped much. Last July, my headache diary looked like this:

Ouch.

In November, I decided to do a “medication detox” to see if Medication Overuse Headache was playing a contributing factor to the high volume of migraines I was getting in a single month — this is basically a condition in which a migraineur will get “rebound migraines” off of the very medication they take to get rid of their migraines, causing a viscious, terrible cycle. The only way to break free is to not take the medication, meaning a month of some seriously awful suffering. It was the hardest thing I have ever had to go through. But this is what my migraine diary looked like in December:

As difficult as it is, I would highly encourage other chronic migraineurs out there to go through with it… Yes, for a month there will be suffering so bad you will want to die, but look at the light at the end of the tunnel as a result! It sure did feel satisfying to finally see this pop up on my migraine diary!

It is hard, however, to not still get really bummed out when migraines still do come… I can’t do anything about things like the migraines I get from the hormonal fluctuations of being a woman, or as would be the case right now in my location, the barometric pressure changes that come as the winter snow storms move in and out over the area. It is very discouraging when I check AccuWeather, which has a handy “weather for migraines” feature, and see this:

Bleeeeeeh.

So seeing as I’ve been spending a lot of time in bed with nasty barometric pressure migraines recently, I figured I’d feature one of my favorite teas for such occassions, which comes from a lovely little shop I found on Etsy (which as it turns out is an excellent place to find looseleaf teas!), AmberFreda, which offers “herbal-inspired products for body and soul.”

This shop has many different herbal teas designed specifically for various health benefits, so being a migraineur, I picked up her Headache Tea. It is an herbal blend that includes chamomile, feverfew, lavender, skullcap, cinnamon, and ginger. It is also one of the most cost-effective teas I have found to date for purchase — you can buy her teas in 8 oz, 16 oz, or 32 oz tins, and an 8 oz tin is only $10! I went for the 16 oz tin for $15 and the shipping was also quite affordable and quick! Since I just ran out of my Rooibos Chai from the Spice and Tea Exchange and it is quite expensive, and this seller has her own version with very similar herbs, I was quick to order myself some of it and will do a comparison when it arrives!

Just look at how big a 16 oz tin is!

Now that’s a lot of tea!

Feverfew is known to help headaches, but I’ve always avoided it as a tea as I heard it is a very bitter herb. I can safely say that you don’t have to worry about that with this tea. As long as you like ginger tea, you should be fine with this tea as far as the taste goes, as it both smells and tastes very strongly of ginger! The remaining taste I’d say is a very earthy taste, but not unpleasant; I do use just slightly more sweetener in this one than I use normally. The mix of herbs is a very good choice for migraine: feverfew, skullcap, and lavender are known to help with headaches, chamomile relaxes muscles, and ginger and cinnamon are great for the nausea that accompanies migraines.

I steep this for five minutes in a covered cup (I just put my coaster over the top of my cup while it steeps, a little tip I picked up from the great Drag Queen Coco Peru in her video Making Tea With Coco Peru (in 20 simple steps) (it is hilarious and really a must watch!), and when it is done steeping it will be a rich yellow color. You’ll really smell that earthy ginger scent! Since this seller only sells the tea in bulk sizes and the price is great, I don’t usually resteep it, as I figure the benefits of the herbs are best with a fresh brew; however, I have tried resteeping before and found that unlike many herbals I’ve tried resteeping, which just taste flat-out bad on a second steep, the strong taste of the ginger in this actually does hold out for a second cup, if one does wish to resteep their infusion.

This has become my “go-to” tea when I’m feeling migraine-sick, and if you have frequent headaches, I’d say give it a try! And if not, but you like herbals, then check out AmberFreda’s shop, as one of her other blends might be more to your appeal… you get so much tea for such a great price, and I haven’t found such a great deal from any other vendor yet!

#1 | #3

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Teatime Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Teatime Tuesday #2: Headache Tea

  1. markarchy says:

    This is interesting, I never used tea for medication. I only use during snack time with fried banana or biscuit. I think I know that ginger can cure headache from drinking ginger and palm sugar mix. I’ve never tried ginger tea for headache, maybe I’ll try it when I had one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s pretty common to use herbal infusions for a variety of different health benefits. In this one feverfew is the main herb known for helping with headache, and most people I know with frequent headaches usually take it as a supplement, much as one would take a vitamin (probably because I’ve heard it is quite bitter!) But since this tea is blended so well with other herbs it actually tastes great, no hint of any bitterness here!

      I’m not sure if ginger itself helps with headache, but what it does work wonders for is nausea, and if you ever have had a really bad headache (or a flat-out migraine) nausea is a common side-effect. If you ever feel upset to the stomach, definitely try a cup of either ginger or mint tea if you have either of those around! Both are excellent at calming the stomach, and I get some really awful nausea with my migraines! Actual nausea medications make me too drowsy to function, but ginger or mint tea work wonders!

      Liked by 1 person

      • markarchy says:

        I know tea is pretty common for medication it’s just never in my mind using tea for medication since modern medicine work instantly for me. I just recently think of side effects and all and the drowsiness from taking medicine usually took one day out of me.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. lisabeesims says:

    I am in need of this today .. but mine is sinus related I am certain. I have a wonderful GINGERY tea that I will use today and try to kill this bug! Wonderful and informative!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually took a teaball filled with this very tea to work today because my headaches have been so bad lately with all the winter storms! I could feel the pressure building in my forehead and my stomach felt really nauseous at my lunch break, so I knew it was time to pull out the Headache Tea! That Feverfew/Ginger combo has really proven to be quite a godsend!

      I hope you get feeling better, Lisa!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. bmitjessesue says:

    I’ve learned so much in just one post. Thank you so much. I have trigeminal neuralgia not migraines, but the pain is constant and I wonder if this will help. Hubby has accum weather on his phone. Now I will too. Best of luck to you and your aching head.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know all too well to feel that constant barrage of head pain. I used to have migraines nearly every day (some months the best I got was only five pain-free days) and it has only been within the last month or so since my medication detox it has let up some (though now with the winter storms, I’m starting to see a bit of an increase again… bleh). I’m fairly certain my migraines are mainly through the trigeminal nerve too, rather than the occipital; using the Cefaly TENS unit to zap the trigeminal nerve does bring me some relief (at least while it is running). I know they use a lot of the same drugs for both chronic migraine and trigeminal neuralgia as well, like Topiramate, which I’m on.

      As far as herbal remedies go, it’s at least on the cheap, easy, and safe side to try, compared to some of the rather crazy and outlandish stuff us constant-head-pain folks try, for certain. If you get accompanying nausea with your head pain, I’d definitely at least recommend either a mint or ginger tea, I have found those work extremely well for me for stomach nausea I get from my headaches. I could never handle prescription nausea medications because of the side-effects, but those settle my stomach down and really help!

      I wish you all the luck as well with your head! *hugs*

      Liked by 1 person

  4. cathytea says:

    My boyfriend also gets barometer pressure headaches–we call them “jet stream” headaches for he gets them when the jet stream passes north or south of us.

    I tend to feel the jet stream passages in my digestive system–sometimes in the head.

    Once, I went to tune my cello after a significant barometric shift, and every note was WAY out of tune! As I tuned it, I realized our bodies are a lot like cellos–all that empty space inside, and we need to get retuned, too, after the shifts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I know a lot of people with arthritis or fibromyalsia also seem to have problems with it… even my boss who doesn’t have the kind of chronic headache issues that I have called in sick the same day as me, with the same complaint… a massive headache!

      We’ve had an unusually harsh winter in southern Idaho this year (we haven’t seen one this severe since the 80s!) and I think a lot of people have been “feeling it” physically and mentally.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Herbal drinks always help people and I am glad you finally found one that suits for your migraine, it will help you to feel better especially if you know which plants suit for decreasing the pains. When my bowels ache I always drink peppermint infusion with sugar , it calms me down the pain and it’s delicious. However you have to wait for a little while before feeling a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, peppermint is great for stomach problems like nausea or indigestion, so I can imagine it would be helpful with IBS symptoms as well. Mint tea is fantastic and I keep it around as it really calms down my stomach.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I avoid medication because IBS isn’t a severe trouble I won’t die of it, it is just sometimes very unpleasant and painful like all disorders.
        Peppermint is the ally to calm down pains from the bowel when crisis occurs. You can it is as infusion or as essential oil.I often drink it with green tea.
        Firstly depend if you have diarrhea or constipation you have to eat more or less insoluble fibers but sometimes we don’t or can’t always follow.

        Liked by 1 person

      • And about this drink you find, I am proud of you. I hope it’ll help you really.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I have to try this definitely as I too am a chronic migraine sufferer. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Welcome to the (very miserable) club! I’ve had a bad one the last few days as a storm has been moving out of the area but I’ve used up my sick leave at work and just had to push through, so I’ve been drinking a lot of cups of this the last few days!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I don’t have chronic headaches but I do get migraines about 1-3 times a month or more. Both hormonal and non-hormonal headaches. I’m going to check out this tea when I run out of the tin I’m currently working!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Any migraines a month are too many a month as far as I’m concerned! I hope you like the tea; if you like ginger tea it is pretty tasty, and it is a much healthier and safer alternative than a lot of the things us migraineurs unfortunately put ourselves through because of the pain. I hope you the best with your head!

      Like

  8. I wish I had found you were doing teatime before now, I love tea! And I will definitely look into this tea and the other teas that AmberFreda has. I suffer from chronic illnesses, which comes along with somewhat frequent headaches, and I try to limit the painkillers I have unless the headache is really bad. The other health teas there look like they’ll also be quite helpful for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Her herbal blends are quite good, today I mixed the Headache Tea with a lemon ginger tulsi from lisabee and that went quite well together! My sister is also hooked on AmberFreda teas now, she has her Detox and Sexy blends and gave me some sampler sizes when I visited her last weekend, but it looked like she was getting pretty far into those 8 oz tins!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

