Teatime Tuesday #3: Cinnamon Plum Herbal Tea

This tea is one of two that I picked up on my first venture into a looseleaf tea shop, the Spice and Tea Exchange, on my vacation to Port Townsend, Washington, last summer while visiting family (the other tea I picked up on that trip was the Rooibos Chai Herbal Tea I featured a few weeks ago). It is hard for me to pick a favorite between the two, as I became helplessly addicted to both!

This Cinnamon Plum Herbal Tea is, to me, perfect for the intense winter weather my area has been facing recently, as it tastes like a warm, cinnamony, fruit cider! I absolutely love to curl up with this on a cold night! It includes organic cinnamon, organic hibiscus flowers, organic currants, organic licorice root, natural plum flavor, and is caffeine-free. For those that hate licorice, as a bonified licorice lover myself, I can safely say that I don’t taste it at all in this particular blend; the tea simply tastes like a rich, plum cider with a kick of cinnamon. If you don’t like hibiscus teas, that flavor is fairly easy for me to discern, and you’d probably want to stay away from this particular tea in that case.

I steep this tea just a bit longer than the suggested five minutes, as I like it to have a really full, rich flavor. The water will still look clear even after the alloted time, but after you pull out the tea ball, it turns the darkest, most beautiful crimson color quite suddenly before your eyes! I oddly love that moment.

Sadly, this tea does not resteep at all; it just tastes weak and unpleasant if you try to resteep the same infusion. This means going through the tea a lot quicker since you have to get a fresh infusion for each cup… and being a Spice and Tea Exchange tea, it is very spendy, at $5.89 for 1 oz. or $21.95 for the 4 oz. size bag I have pictured below.

After I used up my 1 oz. sampler so quickly, when I went on vacation to San Franciso a few weeks after the Port Townsend trip, I found another Spice and Tea Exchange branch on the wharf and shelled out for it! I like it that much! Granted, I’ve been sparing with it, drinking it only on the coldest of nights, to make it last longer… It really is a wonderful fruity herbal brew that has the rich taste of a mulled cider, and warms you to the core!

Also… I have some sad news. The Chefman Electric Kettle I bought developed a leak in less than a week of me owning it, and had to be returned to the Amazons (err… Mr. Tea was dispatched for a very special mission, ya, that’s it). In any event, a new and improved (we can only hope!) Mr. Tea has just arrived!

This time it is a Epica 6-Temperature Variable Electric Kettle. Because after the stellar quality the first kettle displayed, I wasn’t about to replace it with the same brand. >_> (Less than a week?! Come on, I know I make a lot of tea, but really…)

Here he is, all set up and ready for much tea-making action!

Also… look at what else has shown up!

Let’s see what’s inside, shall we?

.

.

.

First, from Art of Tea, is a wealth of tea samplers! I grabbed a holiday tea sampler that includes Pumpkin Pie (rooibos), White Winter Chai (white), Dark Chocolate Peppermint (pu-erh), and Butterscotch (white), and it also came with a package of their fillable teabags, something I’ve never used before (I’m pretty hooked on my Apace Tea Infusers, but they came in the pack and I’m willing to give them a try… they may actually be a great option for me to enjoy looseleafs at work where cleaning infusers would be a hassle, so I’m actually looking forward to trying them out). Also from their holiday line-up I grabbed a sampler of Cran Marnier (rooibos), and other samplers I picked up included Lychee Peach (black), Tali’s Masala Chai (black), Happy (herbal), and Green Pomegranate (green), and they threw in some single bag samples of Green Pomegranate (why one for a tea I already ordered, I wonder?) and Organic Breakfast (black). Obviously I plan to feature each of these at some point, but if you’d like to make any requests out of this new stash, feel free!

Next, from AmberFreda’s Etsy Shop, the same seller that makes the Headache Tea I enjoy, I have picked up her Rooibos Chai, as I want to see if it will hold up as a suitable replacement to the Spice and Tea Exchange’s version which I featured a few weeks ago. Expect a comparison review sometime in the future!

#2 | #4

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Teatime Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Teatime Tuesday #3: Cinnamon Plum Herbal Tea

  1. I am big tea drinker. I found the perfect little tea shop. (If you are ever in Kansas, go to Leavenworth. There a cute little tea shop downtown area.) They have a lot to pick from and a lot you can sample for FREEE!

    I might have take a little road trip this weekend. I haven’t been there since 2015. :(

    Liked by 2 people

    • Is it Queen’s Pantry? I’m not sure if any conventions I go to would ever send me that direction, but it looks like they have a website if that’s the case, and I collect tea sites to sample from! If you have some favorite brews from there feel free to let me know. ^_^ It looks great!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, that is correct. I like their mint tea. (Don’t remember then name.) I think they stop selling it couple years ago. I don’t go often because its almost 2 hour drive for me. :( It’s worth it, because they have some amazing shops.

        Another town to check out is Jamesport, MO. Its a little Amish town with amazing food. :) They have tea shop too.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. cathytea says:

    Yum! The samplers and all the teas sound amazing ! At first I was wondering what word in the title was censored ! Lol !

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The cinnamon tea sounds delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ThuggishSplicer says:

    How I envy you! That tea looks terrific!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great πŸ‘ I too am a great tea drinker. Lovely post and so informative too.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lisabeesims says:

    You’re killing me today. All I have at my daughters house is black tea.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

