The Cat Chronicles Day 46: A Mid-Winter Tragedy

It’s never easy being a stray. Especially during the cold time. Shelter from the elements becomes scarce, and prey becomes even scarcer.


Most strays are weary of two-leggers, but during the cold time…


…A stray will take any hand-outs they can to survive.


Sadly, sometimes that little bit of two-legger kindness just isn’t enough.


I never really knew this stray. I first saw him hanging around my territory the night I had returned from the cat heaven with my spotted queen and wished to mate, to find him stinking up my favorite mating place with his smells.


Had I known then that he was in such a poor situation, maybe I would’ve felt worse for chasing him off my territory that night, but a cat’s duty is a cat’s duty. Who knows how many times he cheekily snuck back to use my comfy place as shelter against the cold stuff since then, or to find my wrinkly one to take pity on his empty belly…

…But it still wasn’t enough.


Always so wary of two-leggers before, the stray seemed calm now, and approached the dark two-legger readily, even though he suspiciously smelled of dead things and didn’t have so much as a treat in his hand.


This stray, who was far too wild to ever let the wrinkly one do something so bold as to pick him up, let alone pet him, was easily lifted into the dark two-legger’s arms.


He seemed so ready for just a little warmth and comfort.


The dark two-legger pulled out a nice-smelling plaything, and started teasing the stray. I could tell he desired the plaything quite badly, but somehow I just knew… that would be the last thing that stray was ever going to chase.


I howled into the night, trying to warn the stray, “Don’t play with the plaything!”


…But it was too late. The stray lept into the air after the tossed plaything…


…And then was gone.


My mate’s two-legger was there, keeping a cat’s hours that night. She looked exhausted and ready to mew at any second.


All I could do was yowl my condolenses into the cold night for the stray that didn’t make it through the cold time, thankful that I had such a good home, and my mate and my kits were warm and sleeping soundly with full bellies in comfort.


Something seemed to pass between me and my mate’s two-legger in the quiet moments that followed. Somehow, I think we both knew it was best to keep this from the wrinkly one. It was for the best she had slept soundly that evening… Her old heart probably wouldn’t have been able to take it.

Day 45 | Day 47

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Cat Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Cat Chronicles Day 46: A Mid-Winter Tragedy

  1. Awww. This was so sad. Poor little thing. :(

    More than once, I’ve had strays croak on the front lawn or porch of the household I’m playing. They come out to see ol’ Grimmy cart the poor soul away…and then, they’re in mourning for a week after witnessing death. Seems like the strays always gravitate to the played household right before buying it and then I’m left with the urn. Go figure!

    I’m glad Rose didn’t see it though. With her sweet nature, she would have cried and cried. :(

    Liked by 3 people

    • At first, I was freaking out, because I saw that dead cat appear up in my bar and thought it was one of *my* cats and didn’t know what was going on! Still hit pretty hard though. I’m pretty glad most of the household slept through it, especially Rose… I don’t think her old heart could’ve taken it and she’s had enough heartbreak already. So I’m glad Senna was the one to “take care of it”; it was certainly upsetting for a catlover like Senna as well, but she’s more equipped to handle it and take care of the remains so Rose wouldn’t have to have such a terrible burden when she’s already gone through so much. Senna just knows what that would do to her Mom, I think.

      Sadly, the strays never stick around long enough for any of my Sims to have any chance at all of befriending them enough to adopt them, because Rose totally would. Usually they pop up for a few seconds in the middle of the night and despawn before any of my Sims have any chance at all to interact with them.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Exactly! Rae has had so much to deal with already that it’s good she didn’t have this to hurt her heart.

        It was nice to see Shadow in a different light even though it was a sad, contemplative one. He’s always such a funny fellow that it kinda squeezed my heart to hear the sadness in his narrative.

        Yeah, same here about the strays. I try to get my Sims to befriend them but they usually just appear and die or appear and then leave right away.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Poor fluffy baby. Life was so cruel with him , he didn’t have the chance to be loved and have a better life. He was a forgotten only Death can deliver him. In Heavens , he’ll be loved . I also fear for my stray pets in my game. Now we’re mid-Summer but this Winter it’ll be tough for them even if my sims had an adoption spree.

    Shadow understood the chance he’s got to be surrounded by two-legger. Even the faucet of the bathtub tonight is a thing to enjoy .

    Liked by 2 people

    • Shadow is indeed a very lucky animal. He didn’t have too spend too much time as a stray before he became a rescue shelter animal and found such a loving home with Rose. He has much to be thankful for.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I wish the same for real stray pets. If only they could quicky find a family to be cared.
        Same for Sirius, he was a stay dog in the shelter and I made him adopted by my simself in a very old save and since I keep him I love him so much. I will write a bside about his story.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. lisabeesims says:

    Ohhh booo hooo … that was so sad

    Liked by 1 person

  4. raerei says:

    Awwww. I loved how Death played with the little kitty and stroked him and helped him. But then I’m a Reaper fan girl. Lol.

    I’m glad it wasn’t one of yours, and it was a perfect little tale to remind us of things on the other side of the glass. Shadows howling broke my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ya, Grim was very gentle with the cat, and I think that’s what got my feels so hard even though this wasn’t a cat I even knew or played… I just had so much sympathy for the way that stray got to feel like a loved pet for at least a few moments before he passed on.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

