The Cat Chronicles Day 51: New Homes


Hmm… the two-leggers are using the strange sounds they make whenever they have a treat for the kittens, or want to pet the kittens, or the kittens have played with something they shouldn’t… but the tone isn’t that high-pitched sound they use with tiny things, nor that hissy tone they use when the kittens are in trouble… I wonder what is going on?


Later that day the wrinkly one and her kit gather up the kittens in a cozy four-sided place for a trip in the roaring monster. They mew the entire time, and I can’t say I blame them; myself and their mother don’t enjoy travel by the roaring monster any better.

When we arrive, the wrinkly one lets me and my queen out to play, but the kittens are left in the four-sided cozy place. It’s a fine plaything, to be sure, but their mother is unamused when she spies the grand plaything, filled with so many sneaky hiding places, behind the wrinkly one.


The wrinkly one’s kit starts making a lot of noise, but I can’t imagine why. But suddenly there is a crowd of two-leggers watching my kittens playing in their cozy four-sided place, making all sorts of those high-pitched sounds. Their kitten powers must be particularly strong today…


My mate watches from atop the grand plaything as I watch from the sidelines, staring up as the kittens are lifted from their four-sided cozy place and shown to all these two-leggers. A few give them pets, and go on their way. But some of the two-leggers seem interested in playing with the kits.


Hmmm… One of the two-leggers seems to have an interest in Three-paw. She is using that voice the wrinkly-one uses around the kittens or the tiny one, and Three-paw seems quite interested in her smells…


…And the smells of her mate. He really seems fond of these two-leggers…


…Perhaps it is finally the time that my kits take two-leggers of their own?


Two-paw, too, seems to have found a two-legger with smells that pique her interest.


Aaaaah, she has treats! My clever girl. I really have taught my kittens well…


But I will leave you with one last life lesson, kittens… as long as you can bring that expression to your two-legger’s face, you will be one content, spoiled cat for life.


Good luck, kittens. I know you are prepared to be the finest of house cats.


That night, we return to our den, but it feels so different without the kittens in it. Their mother can’t help but feel worried, but I comfort her in the knowledge that we raised fine kittens that deserve to have the finest dens and two-leggers of their own.


The den is… unnaturally quiet. I think the wrinkly one and her kit can feel it, too.


This chapter marks the cross-story adoption of Boo and Trixie by Robin and Alina McIntyre from Sweetnightingale’s Another World and Ileah Ralston from Sweetnightingale’s Colors of Loving! Thank you Sweetnightingale for the use of your Sims! (I didn’t have the custom-content for their hair, so forgive me for the slight differences in their appearances. I also don’t have Supernatural, hense their de-magicked states). From this point forward Boo and Trixie will be continuing their lives with their new two-leggers in these stories, so you can follow them there! I’m sure Shadow’s teachings will have served them well.

Boo (“Three-paw”), Shadow’s son (and the one that looks a bit more like his mother in the face) was chosen by Alina and Robin, and Trixie (“Two-paw”), Shadow’s daughter (who looks a bit more like Shadow in the face) was chosen by Ileah. I put the Sims into my household and watched their wishes to see who wanted to interact with which kitten. Boo also seemed to take a particular fondness to Robin; the pictures were too dark so I couldn’t use them, but he spent a lot of time chasing him around!

Day 50 | Day 52

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Cat Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Cat Chronicles Day 51: New Homes

  1. cathytea says:

    Ah! I was feeling sad about them moving out , but now I know they’re with Sweet’s Sims , I’m happy ! Alina is a special favorite of mine !

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think finding home for a surprise litter of kittens is just such an integral part of the cat experience (I still remember my very first cat, Snickers, who quite suddenly gifted my family with three kittens one day without anyone knowing she was pregnant, hahahaha). To be honest if Rose and Senna weren’t such cat lovers they probably should’ve found them homes sooner, but the kittens were growing up, it was time. But yes, Sweetnightingale was sweet to do this cross-story adoption with me.

      I did sort of want Ivy, Rose’s grand-daughter, to get a kitten, but I couldn’t choose between them and didn’t think her mother would be too onboard with that idea with a brand new nooboo in the house, heh.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I loved this! You should’ve seen my soppy grin as each kitty claimed a two-legger. :) Such a bittersweet moment for Shadow and his Wrinkly One though, but the kitties will be very loved and spoiled for sure. Thank you so much for letting my Sims adopt them and for doing this crossover with me. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • The screenshots have been sitting around on my HDD for sometime, held up waiting for Rose’s grand-daughter to age-up, hahaha. I dislike how quickly pregnancy-to-baby and baby-to-toddler transitions take place and was trying to space those events out with extra chapters in my story, and the kittens were still around in that chapter, so for continuity, I had to make sure they were adopted after that event.

      I have no doubts they are going to be happy spoiled kitties. ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know what you mean. I have a Mod where my pregnancies last for 5 days instead of 3. I don’t feel quite so rushed, even in my personal game. It worked out perfectly though and the kitties will soon be shown in my stories. :) Right now in “Another World,” I need to get through the current chapter I’m writing and then I’ll show Robin and Alina with their new family member. Laban and Ileah will have theirs in the next chapter, I’m thinking. Such cuties, soon to be spoiled cuties. :)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. raerei says:

    Omg. I was so worried when I saw the box that Shadow wouldn’t understand. Phew I forgot he’s a smart cat, and it was time. I’m glad they all went to wonderful homes!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think Shadow has been fortunate enough to have not seen a dumped kitten, so at least for now his association with boxes is that they are fun playthings, thankfully.

      I think to him, coming from a stray background but now being a spoiled house cat, he sees it as a bit of an honor that his kits have two-leggers of their own to train. Truly a coming-of-age moment.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. lisabeesims says:

    I echo cavity. I saw the free kittens box and … sniff man that was sad … what time in real life my dog had puppies and I couldn’t give them away either. There were only three and very small. They were so cute. Someone stole them and broke our hearts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The cat I had as a small child (the one I suspect got hit as she never came home one day) had three kittens, quite a surprise, as none of us knew she was pregnant. Just went out to the garage one day and… kittens! My five-year-old self was quite happy, though. :- P My parents were able to find homes through free kitten ads in the paper for two of them — an orange tabby and a gray kitten — and I remember the owner of the orange tabby even sent us a Christmas card of the cat under their tree after he was grown. The one cat no one wanted was the one that looked just like the mother, a male I called “Whiskers”. He kind of became a neighborhood cat but the catlady that lived next door to use took him under her wing and he sort of scooted between our yards and then “officially” became her cat when we moved to Idaho. My grandparents lived just around the corner from that house, so whenever we came down to visit, Whiskers (or “Rufus” as he was renamed by Candy the Catlady) would always stop by; my grandparents even put out food and a heated blanket for him in their garage in the winter, as he made his neighborhood rounds. I found it crazy he could remember us as we grew up and only visited a few times a year. According to my grandma, he became a very, very old cat!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I am glad Trixie and Boo has got wonderful parents to raise them. This is the best gift we can hope for Shadow’s son. No more shelters for his little ones.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

