Teatime Tuesday #16: Lemon Ginger Teas

Welcome back, tea lovers! Did you know that this Friday is the official National Tea Day of the United Kingdom? What better time to celebrate your love and appreciation of tea, especially with those around you! Take the time this week to appreciate your favorite tea, or perhaps get a few new blends you’ve never tried and have a tea-tasting party! Invite a friend over and have your own tea party! Unfortunately an all-day library conference I have to attend this Friday has skunked some plans with my coworkers to have a tea party on the British National Tea Day, but we have decided to have one on British National Tea Day Eve (the Thursday preceeding). There will be tea, sandwiches, and scones… because why forego the opportunity to celebrate something as great as tea with friends over a minor schedule conflict? Remember… Everything Stops for Tea! (A big thanks to my coworker Katie for sharing that lovely song with me, as well as this modern cover by Professor Elemental).

In the spirit of sharing a favorite tea with friends for this most magnanimous upcoming day, I’m going to feature a tea that I was gifted by a reader, Lisabee of lisabeesims, who has a variety of excellent stories for Sims 4 that I would highly recommend! (I adore “Snow White: New Beginnings,” and am an unashamed Bruno fangirl. ^_~ ) One of her favorite teas, this tea is Tulsi Ginger Lemon, and comes from Encore Chocolates and Teas in Olympia, Washingon. Despite there being a web address on the packaging, the link is broken; they don’t have a website to order their wares, unfortunately.

This is a two ounce package of the tea. Opening it up, it has a very strong, pleasant lemony scent.

The ingredients of the tea are organic tulsi, ginger, lemon myrtle, and natural flavors. This is the first lemon ginger tea I’ve seen to use lemon myrtle rather than lemongrass, and also the first to include tulsi, an Indian “holy basil” that has quite a long list of health benefits. The combination of herbs in this tea would make it an ideal tea for those suffering with a cold or viral throat infection, respitory issues, or digestive problems.

I brewed this up using the recommended one and a half tablespoons of looseleaf from the package, and steeped in boiling water for five minutes. It brews into a rich, gingery yellow color, and the brew retains that strong, pleasant lemon scent.

This tea has a strong lemon taste, so if you like lemon (like I do), you will enjoy this tea! You get just a little bit of this ginger bite in the aftertaste, and after drinking bagged lemon ginger tea for so long, this just tastes so fresh and delicious! When I was suffering my viral pharyngitis for a solid week, this was one of my go-to teas. The ginger in the blend also makes it good for headache nausea, and I actually found that this tea is perfect to blend with the Headache Tea I featured previously; the Headache Tea has a very strong ginger taste with a bit of an “earthy” aftertaste that you can get used to after a while, but might be off-putting to some. If you have tried the Headache Tea and had problems with the taste, mix one tablespoon of the Headache Tea with the one and a half tablespoons of this Tulsi Ginger Lemon! The lemon taste is so strong you’ll just taste a pleasant lemon-flavored tea, while still getting all those good herbs for headache in there. I will say that when I had my viral pharyngitis, I tried experimenting with this tea by adding a bit of licorice root to the blend, as that is another go-to herb that is excellent for sore throats (and I was heavily relying on a licorice tea from my local coffee shop on my lunch breaks), but as much as I love licorice, it did not taste right to me in this blend… something about the overall mix of flavors was just off-putting to me when I did that! Some blends work and some don’t, but one doesn’t know without trying!

I usually always sweeten my teas, but found I enjoyed this one even without my usual sweetener. It also holds up great to a few resteepings, though I do increase my steep time by a minute or two on subsequent steeps.

Since British National Tea Day is this week, and I have a few more Lemon Ginger teas in my stash, how about a few more teas this week? Any complaints? No? Good!

This tea came to me as a free sample from one of my orders from Art of Tea (they tend to throw a free single-serving eco pyramid teabag or two of one of their teas into your order box, which is very nice of them!) This tea is Art of Tea’s French Lemon Ginger.

This tea came in their eco pyramid teabag, which is a three-sided bag filled with their looseleafs and designed to give the leaves room to expand in the bag. This tea is available on their website as looseleaf in a sample size for $5, a 4 oz. bag for $18, and $38 for 50 of the eco-pyramid teabags. 8 oz. and 1 lb. bags at additional costs are also available for looseleaf leaves.

The ingredients include organic rooibos, organic honeybush, organic lemongrass, organic ginger, and organic lemon verbena. This tea also had a lemony scent, but I found it a bit sweeter smelling, as I could make out the scent of the rooibos and honeybush leaves as well.

I steeped this tea for five minutes in boiling water, and true to the rooibos and honeybush in the blend, the tea had a dark red color.

This was also a very pleasant tea, but it is a lot different than most lemon ginger teas I’ve tried, on account of the rooibos and honeybush leaves. You can taste the flavor of the rooibos and honeybush, and they give it a sort of sweeter overall taste. The lemon flavor is still very noticeable, but I find I don’t really taste much of the ginger because of the sweeter rooibos flavor. As a lemon-flavored rooibos tea, I would highly recommend this! If you don’t like rooibos, then you would be better off with a traditional lemon ginger tea, but if you like rooibos and like lemon ginger teas, or simply want to try a lemon tea with a slightly sweeter profile, I’d recommend giving this one a try.

The French Lemon Ginger also resteeps very well. I find rooibos usually resteeps well, and the lemon taste holds up over a few brews. The rooibos won’t be quite as strong as the first cup, but it still has a pleasant enough taste to drink for a few steeps.

And finally, if you want a cheap, easily accessible alternative for a lemon ginger tea, once again I recommend Stash brand. I admit, now that I’ve had looseleaf Lemon Ginger tea this tea isn’t quite as enjoyable as it was before, but it is still pretty good for something cheap, boxed, and that you can quickly pick up at a grocery store, and likely what I will start steeping my Headache Tea with once I run out of my Tulsi Ginger Lemon (without a website, I can’t exactly order more now can I, Encore Teas? See what you did there? Sigh…)

Stash’s Lemon Ginger tea has ginger root, lemongrass, natural lemon flavor, hibiscus, citric acid, safflower, and natural ginger flavor (mmm… citric acid! See why looseleafs are superior and it’s so hard to go back to bagged once you’ve had them?)

I think the reason why the looseleafs featured above are so much tastier (other than, you know, simply being higher quality on account of being looseleaf) is their lemon flavor is a lot stronger; even from the steeped color you can see this tea is a more gingery color, and to me, the ginger taste is a bit stronger in this blend than I’d care for (Ginger root and added natural ginger flavor? Just a bit of an overkill if you ask me!). But it does have that distinct lemon and ginger flavor, and if you can’t find a good looseleaf alternative, it is worth a try.

However… I warn about making a mistake at the grocery store and buying this Stash tea instead, which is very similar in name and color of packaging…

The Sunny Orange Ginger, in principal, is only changing the lemon with orange, right? One citrus fruit for another… it really shouldn’t be bad, but I found this tea flat-out nasty! I like orange, I like ginger, but something about the overall flavor was just really displeasing to me, and not at all like their Lemon Ginger tea. Then I looked at the ingredients, which include orange peel, ginger root, hibiscus, licorice root, safflower, orange oil, and that good ol’ citric acid. Huh… ginger with licorice root? Yes, I do believe that is simply a flavor combination that, despite the fact I love both ginger and licorice root, when put together my palette just finds the taste nasty. I’m curious, does anyone else drink this tea and enjoy it? Maybe I’m the only one that finds it off-putting!

I hope everyone enjoys British National Tea Day this Friday! Share a favorite tea with a friend… and thanks again to Lisa for sharing the delicious Tulsi Ginger Lemon tea with me!

#15 | #17

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Teatime Tuesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Teatime Tuesday #16: Lemon Ginger Teas

  1. cathytea says:

    What lovely lemon ginger teas!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lemon ginger teas are always my go to with headcolds and throat infections, which I get far too often. Knowing there are a few different options out there is good, I’ll definitely keep them in mind.

    I didn’t know about National Tea Day in the UK! Definitely going to devote Friday to tea then.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “Spicy” teas like ginger, cardamon, and clove, as well as throat numbers like peppermint and licorice root are my two go-tos for throat infections (and I just got over a really nasty one!) I find the spicy teas help clear the muck, and the peppermint/licorice teas help dull the pain. Lemon Ginger and a tea called Margaret’s Soother (which has peppermint, licorice root, and clove in it) were my vices during that viral pharyngitis!

      Every day is a good day to have tea, but it’s fun to have a geeky excuse to celebrate it! My coworkers are having fun planning our little lunchtime tea party. ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hmm, might see if I can get a decent peppermint tea or try some licorice tea for the next throat infection that is no doubt not far away, since we’re going into winter here. The only problem is my closest tea ship is a bus and a train away, which I just can’t cope with at the moment. Supermarket teabags are just not the same.

        Liked by 1 person

      • No, no they are not! I have found a lot of the small, independant looseleaf shops have websites online that you can order from… the closest tea shop to me is two hours away, but even they have a website I can order from. I’d rather pay the shipping than the gas for the trip!

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s true! Also, having a look at a NZ tea online store – free shipping until sunday! So taking advantage of that one.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Not that I know anything about their tea — having never left the states! — something like this might be a good grab for throat just looking at the herbs. It’s an online tea shop in New Zealand. Liquorice Legs Tea @ TeasMe

        Liked by 1 person

  3. lisabeesims says:

    I will talk to the Encore folks .. they are lovely with tea and not so grat with their web presence LOL
    That rooibos and honeybush lemon ginger tea sounded very interesting .. I will have to look for it

    Liked by 1 person

    • That particular tea comes from Art of Tea, which is linked up in the review. I order from them online quite often. Since I live in an area that doesn’t have access to loose leaf tea, I do 99% of my loose leaf shopping online, with the other 1% picking up new loose leaf from places I visit on vacation (this is why I always check with those shops to see if they have online shops so I can continue to give them business after I go home… surprisingly, even most farmer’s markets vendors I’ve talked to have had websites I can order from and will even give me discount codes because they *want* me to continue shopping online from them, hahaha!)

      Since I shop from Art of Tea so much, I can get first time purchase discounts to friends (I think it’s either $5 or $10) through referrals, so if you want one to their site, just send me an e-mail to mastressalita at gmail dot com and I’ll use that e-mail address through their website to generate the referral. Creating the referrals does not mean you have to use it/order from them. I recently ordered a big bag of their Mandarin Silk Oolong after getting hooked on it from a sampler. (The nice thing is they offer $5 sampler sizes for all their teas to try out, so you aren’t stuck with a huge bag of something you end up not liking).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

