Yandere Days


It was just another normal school day. More boring lectures, more silly drama over who the soccer star might take to prom being whispered in the halls, more locker room bromance I’d never be a part of, and a pop quiz in Chemistry. I just had to get away from it all, so I decided to duck out during lunch. The only thing that brought me back to campus was knowing that Cora Samaras, my crush since middle school, was in my next class.

I had no idea that would put me at exactly the wrong place at just the right time…

…to witness something so awful.

Surely Claire Madison, the richest girl in school, with popularity and good looks to match her daddy’s bank account, wouldn’t have committed suicide? Was it an accident? Had she been leaning over the the frame texting on her newest i-device and it slipped from her hand, and foolishly trying to catch it to finish that one last gossip Tweet she went over with it? Those were the sorts of rumors that spread like wildfire around the school as soon as the news got out.

But I knew the truth.

Because I saw Cora Samaras, my crush since middle school, on the roof that day.

I tried to just ignore it, to block from my memory that I had seen anything, to steel myself when I heard the cries and glanced out the window to see the crowd that had formed once someone else had discovered the body. I felt sick in the pit of my stomach. If anyone knew I’d been at the school entrance at the time of death, I was going to be questioned. Could I really cover for a girl that could very possibly be a murderer?

It wasn’t even as if I had a chance with her, anyway. During class, her eyes were always wandering to Jayce… He could play soccer but was otherwise dumb as a brick. Honestly, I couldn’t see what she saw in that guy. They had nothing in common! All the times I’d managed to get just a bit of her attention, I’d discovered we had so many similar interests. Video games. Horror movies. Obscure indie rock bands.

…The more I thought about it, the more I started thinking, Why couldn’t it have been Jayce that fell off that roof? And then I knew. If it came down to it, I would cover for her. I was just too in love.

As we were leaving class, I felt a shiver pass down my spine.

She was sending me a look that would kill.

“I know,” she said.

“Know what?” I felt my heart flutter, and I wasn’t quite sure if it was just from being in such close proximity to Cora, or that I was legitimately scared of her.

“Watch your back,” was her only reply before she left.

I blinked, unsure what to make of it all. Did she… know I’d seen her on that rooftop? How? It wasn’t as if I’d actually… witnessed any real crime. And besides, I’d already decided I was going to cover for her. I needed to talk to her! Somehow I felt there was a real misunderstanding going on… So after school, I went looking for her.


Unfortunately, she found me first… and as circumstances would have it, I wasn’t going to get that chance to have a chat, since the minute my head hit the wall at the bottom of the staircase…


…the world went black.


When I came to, I was locked inside a storage closet.

“CORA! Cora, let me out! I can explain! Please!” I banged on the door, pleading, hoping she was just outside.

It felt like hours had gone by, stuck in that crowded, claustrophobic space. And then my heart really started pounding, as I came to realize, I’m not going to get a chance to explain things. I’m next. I have to get out of here!

I started banging on the door even harder. “Someone! Please! Let me out! Cora Samaras! She killed Claire! She’s coming for me!”

Have to get out, have to get out, have to get out…

My foot went up and started kicking against the door with all my strength.

“CORA! I… WILL NOT… BE NE–”

And then a message popped up on the screen. Offline: You were disconnected from the server. Return to Yandere Simulator Online

“Oh, son of a bitch!” I yelled at my computer screen. What kind of crappy Internet service is our host running, anyway? Things were just getting good!”


“Mwahahaha… Oooooooh Sloan, poor boy. You just had to go and be a witness, didn’t you? And I just can’t have that…”


“I’m sorry, Sloan. I… I know how you feel about me, but… you aren’t Jayce. You’ll never be Jayce. I would’ve let you live so long as you didn’t get in the way, but now you are a liability…”

And then, suddenly, the screen goes black.


“What? WHAT?! Everything was going perfectly! I already had three victims, two of which with no witnesses, the third only had one witness and I was just about to tidily take care of that! How could my computer just lose power like that?!”

And that was when I discovered my cat happily playing with the power cord to my PC.

“CASANOVAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!”


“Casanova! How many times have I told you that electronic cords are not kitty toys! I give you yarn, and long stringy things with feathers on them, and all manner of things to swat around, but noooooooooooo, you have to come mess with my things! Don’t you know that yandere acts as host? Think of all those poor people in my game of Yandere Simulator Online that were booted out of our game because of you! Hey! Heeeeeeeey! Get back here, I’m not done being livid with you yet!”


This was written for April for the Monthly Simlits Short Story Challenges thread from the Sims forums, which tasked folks to write a story in 500-2000 words using 1-15 screencaps using the theme “Expect the Unexpected.” This theme required creating a story with an unexpected twist or development. I used 986 words and 14 screencaps. It uses characters from a previous story I had written, The Yandere Diaries, which featured Cora Samaras, a yandere protagonist (for those that don’t know, a “yandere” is a Japanese character archetype that is genuinely romantic, loving, kind, sweet, and gentle, but is at the same time brutal, psychotic, or deranged in behavior; these characters tend to have romantic feelings towards another that turn into a deranged obsession, even to the point of murdering those they see as romantic rivals). This story is, however, entirely unconnected to that work (I think the “twist” here should reveal that well enough, since the “characters” were actually just game avatars, heh). It also features my Simself, and if anyone is crazy enough to want Mastress Alita in their game, she is available for download from SilverDaybreak’s Simself Scroll in both Sims 3 and Sims 4 flavors. Casanova is also available with the Sims 3 version!

I had this silly idea half-fleshed out about mid-month, but it didn’t completely come together in my mind until right at the last minute, and then I got struck with a secondary hard drive failure and some nasty migraines which made getting the screencaps and composing the work right down at the wire really difficult! I’m honestly shocked I managed to get it done in time! I’ll admit that I’ve been missing the characters from The Yandere Diaries since that story went on hiatus and was removed and I started wondering, “Can I use them in some way?” Then I started thinking about the actual game Yandere Simulator (yes, it is a real game, albeit it isn’t an online game, that is entirely fictional in this story, hahaha!) and that is where this silliness started to germinate!

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Yandere Days

  1. Saffize says:

    I LOVE THIS! What a great twist, and expertly written great job!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. adwilson1991 says:

    Oh! I certainly did NOT expect that. Very nicely done and such a neat way to explore the monthly theme.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sadly I liked the idea my friend Cody gave me at the last minute even better, but by that point I already have my screenshots and couldn’t change my idea. It was “Have M. Knight Shyamalan in it, but the twist is that he’s actually a Shyamallama?” This was incredibly funny to me, because as work we call him “M. Knight Shyamallama Mad at Mama” (based on the popular childrens book title). And llamas and Sims go together so beautifully. Alas!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. makplays says:

    The mischievous Casanova strikes again! That story was really fun to read :)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Originally I was going to do something different for the player reveal, but Chealsycat sent me the comment during my Blogaversary that she “wanted more Casanova on my blog” and at the last minute I changed the ending of the story to this ending, hahaha!

      Liked by 2 people

  4. I expected to read a crime story …I laughed seeing you playing at a game ahaha. You caught me ! Congratulations the effects is perfect to fool everybody .
    I really really liked this story .

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Todd Allis says:

    I was looking for a twist, thinking maybe there was another killer Cora was going to save him from or something! Totally didn’t see that twist coming. Fun story!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. oshizu584 says:

    I loved the way you inserted your simself into the story–just like her, I felt like the story got interrupted just as it was getting really juicy! I’d read somewhere that you’d discontinued a story titled Yandere Diaries and felt so disappointed. I’m glad I got a chance to read a spin-off from that narrative.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poor Yandere Diaries sat untouched for a full year, and I just didn’t have the time to dedicate to it at this point in time. All of the chapters and save files are backed up, so maybe one day I can revive it (but with my current schedule I only have the time to focus on one ongoing story at a time). It didn’t have a lot of readers so I decided to focus my attentions on Cat Chronicles, but I do hope to return to Cora-tachi again sometime. I was missing them which is what prompted me to write this!

      Liked by 1 person

      • oshizu584 says:

        Wow, a year is a long time to leave a story but I’m relieved to hear that you’ve get everything backed up. I will keep my eye out for the revival of Yandere Diaries. Some stories are not for everyone, it seems, but I would read it avidly! :-)

        Liked by 1 person

  7. cathytea says:

    This was fantastic ! So glad you finished in time !

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Arrowleaf says:

    Hahah, this is awesome. I’ve played the Yandere Simulator and this is just, perfect. I loved the twist. ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This was beyond great! Love the twist!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

