Goodbyes


“I still remember how beautiful you looked that night of our first date. You wore that cute sun dress, your lips so enticingly red lips, your hair all soft, caramel curls, and your soft skin smelled of that sweet jasmine perfume that I liked so much. It made a kid like me feel even more awkward and nervous in your presence… but somehow, by the end of that date, you’d managed to make me forget all of that. All I knew is that I wanted that night to never end… I wanted to spend eternity with you. Saying ‘goodbye’ at your door that night was one of the hardest things I’d ever had to do.

“But if I’d thought that was hard, it was nothing compared to standing in your arms at the airport, our wedding bands pressing into each other’s backs as we gripped each other tightly, and having to look into your tear-stained hazel eyes and tell you goodbye again, perhaps for the last time, before the flight that would take me away to my military service left. We’d rushed into marriage, knowing the draft was a real threat, and suddenly I felt like I’d done you a disservice, having to leave you behind, alone and worried, and possibly widowed before my term of service was up. That goodbye felt so heavy… so final. I prayed every day that it wouldn’t be, and believe to this day that is what kept me alive.

“I told myself that I would never say goodbye to you ever again… And now, you are the one leaving, and I… I don’t know what to do. I love you, with all my heart, but I still can’t bring myself to say it… to tell you ‘goodbye’ and make this all real…”

Who said you had to? I’m not going anywhere, love. I’ll always be with you…


This was written for June for the Monthly Simlits Short Story Challenges thread from the Sims forums, which tasked folks to write a story in 0-500 words using a single screencap using the theme “A Picture’s Worth a Thousand Words.” This theme required using a single image to tell the story and took up the majority (1k!) of the typical word count of the challenge. I used 315 words and the required screencap. It is a completely stand-alone story, not using any characters from any of my other works, though the Pates are Sims I first created for my Photo Friday segment, Photo Friday #5: The Heart Never Grows Old.

I had the idea for this pretty early on, but it took a while to find just the right poses to bring it to fruition since I’m unable to create my own poses. It’s one of those pictures that only works from certain angles, but the Sims and props look atrocious from other angles!

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Goodbyes

  1. makplays says:

    I loved how you were able to fit that many plot twists into so few words. Well done!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. chealsycat says:

    Awesome! So few words and so emotional! <3

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A beautiful story and picture!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That gave me chills!! Beautiful story! I hope you win!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I mainly just do Short Story Challenge not so much for the voting aspect, but to challenge myself with the rotating themes which stretch my creativity (I still plan to go back and do May, which I missed, and just submit For Fun ^_^ … I have an idea for something different I’ve always wanted to try for it too). This one was very non-conventional since it had such a small word/picture limit compared to normal! I had to think about it a lot, but think my Photo Fridays helped prepare me a bit for something like this.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I really love the pictures and all the true feelings , speaking of death isn’t easy .

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a theme I seem to come back to a lot. I actually based this on the moment I lost my grandpa to cancer and had to say goodbye to him in the hospital, I just swapped the roles to lessen the emotional burden on myself slightly (it still tugged at me quite a bit, though).

      Liked by 1 person

      • I am very sorry for the loss of your grandpa it’s horrible you see him dying at hospital. When my granny died I only see her already away, only her body lying on the hospital bed. She was already away when i saw her.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. notjustabook says:

    Oh man, that was so sad… it hit especially hard when I realised who the couple was. Ouch.

    By the by, if you’re ever in need of some poses, you can always ask. Haven’t done any in a long time, but I do some occasionally :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, that’s a sweet offer, thanks! One I may need sometime, I spend days (weeks?) sometimes trying to find the poses I’ll need for certain projects.

      Ya, this couple was only used for a Photo Friday, and granted, it was easier for me to reload some saved Sims than make new Sims again (lazy Alita is lazy >_> ) BUT! in the grander scheme, I actually really loved how that couple turned out for Photo Friday and have had a story idea rumbling in my head for a while. I don’t have the time to do more than one story project at a time, so I can’t really do anything with it until Cat Chronicles is finished, but this would, technically, “be cannon” to the plans for that. ^_~

      Liked by 1 person

  7. raerei says:

    Seriously awesome story – and talent – to get an entire lifetime of love into 500 words…half of it in the last sentence alone. Albeit potentially creepy the way the ghost in entwined about. Although I like to think of it as sweet and romantic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve never found ghosts creepy myself, but I suppose that depends upon ones mileage, heh. Perhaps its a bit of my own belief that we keep a bit of our loved ones wrapped about us like that when they leave us.

      This was definitely a very different sort of Short Story Challenge! But I had a really clear image in my head for it. I actually have a story idea in mind for Mr. Pate, and think the fact that I’ve been doing Photo Friday since the beginning of the year helped me think more along the lines of a photograph than the typical story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

