I’m Sorry

Warning: This story contains intimate moments and censored nudity. There is one instance of an exposed breast. This story is NSFW, but far more tame than many of the intimate love scenes found in R-rated movies. I leave it up to my readers’ discretion to decide if they feel comfortable viewing this sort of material.

The following story is set to song lyrics. If you would like to listen along, please click here. The song will open in a new tab.


The first time we met time stood still.

You left me breathless, suddenly speechless.

Within the hour we were one;

Two total strangers kissing the moonlight.

Oh, you know I’m sorry I had to go,

I’m really sorry it had to die,

I’m really sorry I made you cry.

Cry…

We fell in love between the nights,
Of too many lovers and too many teardrops.

And fate won’t resist some satin sheets.

I was so helpless, totally ruthless.

Oh, you know I’m sorry I had to go,

I’m really sorry you’re hurt inside,

I’m really sorry I made you cry.

Cry, cry…

Love…

…is lifting you up…

…and draggin’ you down;

Makes you go round and round and round.

Time makes a stop then it’s all gone;

Funny how memories keep lingering on.

Oh, you know I’m sorry I had to go,

I’m really sorry it had to die.

I’m really sorry I made you cry.

You know I’m sorry I had to go,

I’m really sorry you’re hurt inside,

I’m really sorry I made you cry.
Cry, cry…

I’m really sorry…
Cry, cry…

“I’m Sorry” by Roxette (listen on YouTube)


This was written for May for the Monthly Simlits Short Story Challenges thread from the Sims forums, which tasked folks to write a story in 500-1500 words using 1-12 screencaps using the theme “I’m Sorry.” I was busy that month setting up the virtual Simlit link library I previously had hosted on the Sims forums, the Stories and Legacies Index, at its new home on WordPress, and was unable to participate at that time. So now, two months later, I’m making a “For Fun” submission (you can submit for a past theme at any time, so never let that deadline inhibit your creativity!)

Since this story was just for fun, I decided to really have fun with it and just focused solely on the theme and did not worry about the typical word and picture limitations of the challenge. I wanted to do something a bit different, that I’ve always wanted to try and haven’t had a chance to do yet, and that is illustrate a song using imagery from Sims 3. When I first heard the theme for May, I couldn’t stop getting Roxette’s I’m Sorry — one of my favorite songs by them! — out of my head, and slowly the inspiration for this story of a love triangle involving a mermaid started to unfold around the lyrics in my brain. (And yes, I am a big fan of Roxette, as well as other Swedish pop groups… I have all their albums and feel bad the typical American only knows the “three hits” that got played over here, which weren’t even their best songs, in my humble opinion). Feel free to click that link if you’d like to hear the song that inspired the story!

I’m not sure how well the story plays out in only pictures and lyrics, but I’m hoping the message — or at least the emotion — gets across. If you’d like to view the images from the story in their full resolution before photo editing, you may check out this gallery. I am thinking I will do a more “traditional form” sequel to this that will (hopefully) fill in any gaps or clear any confusion.

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I’m Sorry

  1. lisabeesims says:

    Wow so cool … loved the experimental style so very much …the story was wonderful too

    Like

    • Thank you! This was probably the most labor-intensive photoshoot I’ve ever done (as I discovered, working with poses and water in Sims 3 is quite an ordeal, and a few of the boat images took several hours to achieve as a result!) but in the end I was really happy with how it all came together.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A song is also a story, well done !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. makplays says:

    I think you did a great job at conveying the story with only the song lyrics and pictures :)

    Liked by 2 people

  4. cathytea says:

    This is awesome ! I’m picking up a satirical sadistic siren vibe from this … don’t know the song and I’m on a tiny device so the subtleties of the expressions are lost to me at present . . I’ll come by later on the laptop with the bigger screen to test my interpretation ! Really beautiful , even if I am reading it wrong !

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do use a pretty small display size for my blog (to make loading times easier on portable devices, though I don’t own one myself!) and admittedly I was sad some of the shots weren’t as good as in their full size. I debated linking to the full size images like I did with Sims Pride, but didn’t in the end, because one image is edited on the site because it uses a small portion of the full-size image (easy to do when going from 1024×768 to 500×375), so the only thing I’d have to link to would be a *cough* bit racier image. One I really loved (the love scene with the boy and the mermaid on the beach) but in the end I felt to chicken to show because I thought people would think it “showed just a bit too much”… or something. (I dunno, I get paranoid about these things!)

      The other issue is it was a night photoshoot, which I know meant dark photos. Something I could’ve easily fixed in Photoshop but when I did and looked at them, it just… didn’t look quite right. The reason why I shot at night was because I wanted the events happening at night, a secret late-night tryst, a dark atmosphere, stars glittering over dark waters, and it looked too much like day for my liking if I adjusted the images any. The darkness makes little details like the teardrops on faces and things like that more difficult to see as the images were resized smaller, so on even smaller resolutions, they may disappear completely.

      I certainly could make the full-size images available (they wouldn’t have any of the composite photoediting done to combine shots, but I still have all the pictures that were used in original size!) If you would like to peruse them, just let me know, I can easily upload them to Todd’s server and add a gallery link.

      Like

  5. Todd Allis says:

    Ooh, experiment successful. I played the song in another tab and scrolled through, and it was like a music video. Nice story, and the nighttime shots work well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve had a lot of complaints about the nighttime shots, but the problem is a) I *wanted* the story set at night and b) lightening the shots to make them “easier to see” makes them look like daytime shots, not night. I honestly don’t know a way around the issue people have a complaint with… nights are dark. O_O If there is one, I certainly wish some Simmer more experienced than I would share it! But I’m glad you liked them. ^_^ I prefer to listen to the song as well, but my stats show by and large most people don’t bother to click the link to listen to it. I think it adds something when you know the cadense and rhythm, myself… but then, I was listening to it a lot and singing along as I put together the story, and I know your process is similar when putting together AMVs. Maybe that’s what seems natural to us that are more used to “music video” formats.

      Like

  6. raerei says:

    Oh it plays. :D I’m not familiar off hand with the song (and I’m at work so it didn’t seem right to play it), but even the words and almost the screenshots alone were enough to tell the story.

    Reminds me of the terrible mermaid anime stories I watched years ago with captured mermaids and broken hearts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Being an anime fan, I do love AMVs and such and take a lot of inspiration from that medium. I just don’t have the equipment (or interest/desire) to formally work with the video format. I’ve still always wanted to try to set imagery to a song “music video style,” however.

      I do love tragic mermaid stories. The original Hans Christian Anderson “Little Mermaid”, and Rumiko Takahashi’s “Mermaid Saga” (a haunting tale of horror and immortality) are two of my favorite stories!

      Like

Leave a Reply

