Teatime Tuesday #30: Cinnamon Orange Black

Welcome back, fellow tea addicts! Today for teatime I have a tea that was gifted to me by my tomodachi ijou koibito miman Todd (that means “more than a friend, less than a lover” in Japanese, and as an asexual I love the term as I feel it truly captures a deepness in a relationship beyond what the cultural standards of what the American term “friend” tends to carry!), which comes from my favorite breakfast restaurant when I’m visiting him in the Bay Area in California!

This tea is the house blend from Hobee’s Restaurants, a breakfast restaurant with several locations around the Bay Area in California. They have the most amazing blueberry coffee cake, and it’s impossible to not take a slice to go! They serve this tea sweet-tea style in large glasses and it’s amazing! I doubt my abilities to make iced tea as good as theirs, not knowing exactly how they prepare theirs, but I did want to give it a go!

The tea is a Cinnamon Orange black tea and can be ordered off their website in either a small 8 oz. bag for $9.95, pictured above, or in a huge 5 lb. bulk bag!

The ingredients for the tea are black tea, orange peel, cloves, rose hips, and natural and artificial flavors. It smells lovely, with the clove and cinnamon scents tickling the senses! The tea is super fine! Since it is so fine, even with my Apace Living infusers being very carefully and slowly lowered into hot water (the only way to use infusers, never put them in the cup first and pour water over them, as the sudden rush of water can dislodge very fine particals of tea out of the infuser and cause floaters!), I still have problems with floaters with this tea. Therefore, I use fillable seal-bags for this tea, due to the fineness of the leaf, instead of my infusers. I currently have Art of Tea’s filter bags since they came inside a sampler set, but you can find cheeaper ones on Amazon if you have Prime (I prefer the drawstring kind, they are way easier to keep from causing floaters than the ones with an “open top” on them).

As one might guess from that leaf, this tea steeps very dark! It almost reminds me of a dark coffee! But the spiciness gives it a lovely warm taste that bursts on the tongue. It’s a bit more full-bodied than the Cinnamon Black Tea that I reviewed before, but the clove balances it out nicely. I was surprised to find that I can sip my cup without needing to add sweetener! The tea itself has lovely orange hints that keep it from being too overbearing, despite being such a dark tea, and the spices just give it so much flavor that it has a natural sweetness. It is a wonderful orange spice blend, with all the ingredients working together to create just the right flavor profile. It makes a tasty warm cup, and if you like orange spice teas, I’m sure you’ll be impressed by this one!

Because the tea was such a full-bodied black tea, I decided that to ice it, rather than trying a “warm rinse” and then cold brewing like last week with Lady Londonderry (which was admittedy a much lighter-bodied black tea), I decided I’d just hot brew this tea. My gut instinct just felt that was likely the best way to release the flavors of this tea, and I felt that was probably how they made it at Hobee’s (and then they likely just served it over ice to chill it quickly!). So I simply boiled four cups of water, put four teaspoons of leaf into a fillable teabag, and left it in the sealed mason jar to steep for five minutes. It got nice and steamy! Once it was done steeping, I removed the teabag, and using potholders (careful, that glass jar will be hot!) placed it in the fridge to chill.

Once my tea was thoroughly chilled, it was ready for sampling! I actually was quite surprised to find that I enjoyed this tea just as much as when I tried it made by Hobee’s! I was also surprised that I didn’t need to sweeten my iced tea, the mix of spices just give it this natural sweetness that holds no matter if the tea is prepared warm or cold! I would recommend giving your cup a brisk stir to let all the spices thoroughly mix throughout the tea and really give it a wonderful flavor! This tea came out with a very full flavor, so I think hot steeping it and allowing it to chill was probably the best choice for iced preparation! Of all the black teas I’ve tried iced so far, I think this one has come out the best so far for a really rich flavor! If you are on the fence that cinnamon and clove would be a poor choice for an iced tea, seriously… give it a try! This tea would also be fabulous with some orange slices as a garnish!

#29 | #31

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Teatime Tuesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Teatime Tuesday #30: Cinnamon Orange Black

  1. cathytea says:

    Sounds so delicious !

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really need to make some more of this! As soon as I free up another mason jar (which really doesn’t take me long!) I’ll have to make another batch of this one, I’ve really been enjoying iced chais and spiced teas right now.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lisabeesims says:

    MMMM yum .. only sipping my tulsi now keeps me from brewing up a nice cup of black …

    Liked by 1 person

    • I enjoy black blends (I’m not much for estate pures, though I will sometimes be in the mood to sample them with some milk and sugar), and I have to say I’ve been surprised that recently I’ve found so many black blends I can take without even needing sweetener. This one was a real delight, but I’ve been really enjoying teas with a bit of a spiciness to them! (Probably an odd choice for summer, but they ice amazingly!) Recently I added a few new chais to my collection and a lemon tisane tea that has a bunch of the classic chai spices that I bet is going to be a delight both hot and cold! I loved how chilled the spices in this tea sort of suspended in the glass and kept it really flavorful on every sip!

      Liked by 1 person

      • lisabeesims says:

        yes, for me some of the chias would be overwhelming with sweetner … but good old strong black tea with milk (NOT cream) and sugar take me back to my childhood days and drinking tea with my Irish Grandpa (while most Irishmen men love whiskey or stout he loved his tea)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. raerei says:

    I must remember to make more tea. I feel like I make iced tea and then the next day it is gone….

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is why I have six mason jars that I keep in rotation (usually four with tea and a few empty to use for straining into) so I have several quarts on hand. I can usually go through a quart or two a day, but if I just keep replacing them with fresh tea, I just keep cycling in and out different types of teas so I always have a few different iced teas on hand in the fridge at any given time. The system works pretty well. The amount is small enough that it’s easy to whip up a new batch and stash it so it’ll be ready for the next day and to go through the tea in a day for a single person.

      Like

Leave a Reply

