Teatime Tuesday #32: Peach Teas Pt. 2

Welcome back, tea fans! Today for teatime we are continuing our Peachapalooza with a few herbal additions to the awesome peach teas that were featured last week! This sweet fruit makes for a great refreshing icy summer brew during these hot months, so let’s steep that tea and bottom those cups!

First up is Bonita Peach Rooibos Herbal Tea from The Spice and Tea Exchange. They have 1 oz. sampler bags (pictured above) for $5.89 and 4 oz. bags for $22.39.

This tea has green rooibos, orange peels, marigold flowers, dried strawberries, and natural strawberry, peach, and orange flavorings. It is a caffeine-free blend, and Spice and Tea Exchange claims that it is “delicious served either hot or iced.”

This was my first green rooibos blend. While red rooibos has a sort of naturally sweet taste, green rooibos, which comes from the same redbush plant but hasn’t been oxidized, has a somewhat malty or grassy flavor similar to green tea.

I steep this tea for five minutes using boiling (212 degree F) water. The tea smells very similar to the Machu Peach-u tea from last week, though Machu Peach-u steeped a bit lighter in color; this tea is a very peachy orange tone.

Honestly, I find the taste profile very similar between the two teas. Both Machu Peach-u and Bonita Peach Rooibos have a rich peach flavor, and the vegetal tones of the actual tea are hidden beneath the strong flavor. I’d say the biggest difference between the two blends is that Bonita Peach Rooibos has some subtle flavor notes of orange beneath the peach in the aftertaste. This is also a very naturally sweet tea, and I can drink it fine without sweetener. Adding a little sweetener, to me, does make some of the peach flavors pop a little more, and does bring the strawberry notes in the tea out more, which I didn’t really taste at all when the tea was unsweetened. Either way, it is a very delicious, fruity blend, with a great peach taste! My volunteer at the library, RoseAnn, really loved this tea!


Since green rooibos isn’t oxidized, I’ve read that it can be cold steeped fine without losing its flavor (it is far more similar to green teas than red rooibos in this regard), so that is how I decided to prepare it for an iced brew. I’m always happy to get to prepare a nice, cold steep! Here is a finished, strained Mason jar of Bonita Peach Rooibos, iced and ready for consumption!


This tea iced is great! It has the strong peach flavor of the warm brewed tea, with a clean, refreshing taste! It tastes fine sans sweetener, but I enjoy it even more when it has been sweetened. This is a very fruity tea and a great choice for a summer cool down!


The last peach tea in my collection is another herbal, Country Peach Passion by Celestial Seasonings, which I originally sampled in their Fruit Tea Sampler. Back before I got into loose leaf teas, this was one of my favorite boxed brands of tea, and I really enjoyed this sampler pack of fruity flavors, especially the Country Peach Passion; I went out and bought a separate box of it after I’d used up the sampler bags!

This tea contains orange peel, rosehips, hawthorn, chamomile, natural peach flavor with other natural flavors, blackberry leaves, hibiscus, peaches, citric acid and paprika for color.


I only had four teabags left, so I used them to prepare a quart of this tea iced. I’ve had plenty of warm cuppas of this tea in the past, and fond memories of it bring back a sweet and pleasing peach taste, but I’ve never tried it (or any bagged tea, to be honest!) iced. I have read that herbals fair better with a hot steep (or at least a hot rinse), so I decided to give this tea hot steep first. I let the teabags steep in boiling water for five minutes covered, before removing them. A word of warning, these teabags are designed in a pillow format and don’t have strings on them, so use tongs to remove them from the hot water! Allow the water to cool a bit in the Mason jar, then cover and pop in the fridge to chill.


And here it is, iced Country Peach Passion, after a hot steep! This tea had a very strong peach scent! I was very curious how this would taste!


I always remembered adding sugar to my Country Peach Passion warm brewed… but perhaps that was simply becaused back then, when I was a bagged-tea-drinker, I hadn’t expanded my pallet enough to start experimenting with trying tea sans sugar. Because I tried this iced tea without sweetener and found it very naturally sweet! It is very peachy, as I remember, but honestly, now that I’ve switched to loose leafs, the flavor just can’t hold a candle to last week’s Machu Peach-u or the Bonita Peach Rooibos above. It just falls a little flat, it doesn’t feel as fresh. If you’ve never had loose leaf teas and you simply don’t know what you are missing, this is certainly a passable peach flavored tea. Otherwise, I’d really pass it up for something higher quality, or consider using it as a mixer if you want, say, to make a black iced tea peach flavored. It would probably do well to be used for making a peach-flavored Sweet Tea.

So how do all the teas from this week and last week hold up? My two favorites for iced teas were the Lychee Peach Black tea and Machu Peach-u White tea from last week. They are very different teas with very different flavors. If you want a black tea with a very distinct fruity flavor, the Lychee Peach is a great choice; if you want a light, refreshing peach drink, the Machu Peach-u white tea is a great choice and it is so easy to cold brew. White teas are very low on caffeine, but if you are completely caffeine intolerant, then go for the Bonita Peach Rooibos, which has a very similar taste profile to the Machu Peach-u but is a caffeine-free herbal. And if you are really dying for some peach iced tea and simply can’t put in an order for some loose leaf, then try out the Country Peach Passion; you can mix it with some black tea if it is too sweet for your tastes!

#31 | #33

About Mastress Alita

I'm a fulltime librarian, a chronic migraineur, a tea addict, and an avid Simmer that writes SimLit and maintains the Stories and Legacies Index, a link directory of SimLit on Wordpress. Though I obviously love cats, I actually don't own one! (Blame my apartment lease for that!) I do have a charming old cockatiel, Kali, that has been my companion for the last seventeen years!
This entry was posted in Teatime Tuesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teatime Tuesday #32: Peach Teas Pt. 2

  1. cathytea says:

    Loose leaf rules! I’m wanting some marigold tea after reading this !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Last night someone in the Twitch stream I frequent was drinking Country Peach Passion and talking about how great Celestial Seasonings is… and I was just like “I used to like it… until I tasted loose leaf.” It’s like upgrading a computer, it seems fine when you are using it, but once you’ve upgraded, you can’t believe the difference, and you simply can’t go back. Now I bring a different loose leaf with me to work every day, where I have a second kettle and set of infusers!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

